When life hands you defunct granola bars…

October 29, 2010 at 3:13 pm 6 comments

Make granola!

On my first day of maternity leave, I decided to embrace my internal hippie domestic and make granola bars.  We are always buying granola bars because they are so convenient to take to work, but I haven’t yet found a bar in the stores that is tasty, filling, and nutritious without costing a small fortune (Larabars, I am looking at you specifically).  I used a recipe I had made before, composed of your usual combination of oats, honey, raisins, nuts, wheat germ and the like; a recipe that I had written “Excellent!” beside.  I figured it couldn’t go wrong, but go wrong it did.

Flavour-wise, they were perfectly fine.  But when it came to actually cutting them into bar-form, it was, as the Internet likes to say, a FAIL.  Those puppies were stuck in the dish and there was no way they would escape in tact.  I pretty much had to chisel them out of there, which ultimately created a very large supply of, well, granola!

Thankfully, I love granola and have no problems eating it for breakfast for the next 78 days.

Sliced banana, wildberry yogurt, and granola-bar-less granola!

Since I am now on Day Three of my so far baby-less maternity leave, I have learned a couple of things.  First of all, it is very very easy to nap.  Secondly, it is very very easy for days to fly by with little-to-no productivity.  I have found that a to-do list written the night before is a must!  On today’s to-do list, I wrote:

– Shower (I know, I really challenge myself…)

– Clean the bathrooms and sort through the medicine cabinet

– Walk to the library to pick up my holds (LOVE that I can walk to my library)

– Bake chocolate chip cookies for visiting with friends/family tomorrow

– Do not sit on couch and eat half of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies

– Make a frugal dinner

– Carve a pumpkin

– Roast pumpkin seeds

I am happy to announce that I have achieved the first half of my list.  My medicine cabinet had FOUR bottles of sunscreen in it, by the way.

For supper tonight, I’m making butternut squash/apple/sweet potato soup as well as lentil rice casserole, a recipe I found from my brand new copy of The Complete Tightwad Gazette!

This was one of the birthday gifts from my hubby!  He knows the way to my heart is through frugality.  That, and chocolate.

I will be sure to post the results tomorrow.

For now, I am just sipping on my Green Pink Monster and hanging out with the kitties.

Banana, spinach, milk, and raspberries.  Seasonally inappropriate, yet too delicious to deny!

Cats in Autumn, Volume One

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Happy birthday to me! Frightening Jack-o-lantern Below: You’ve Been Warned!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  October 29, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Hey, when it all comes down to it, it’s all granola! YUM!

    Reply
  • 3. Amanda C  |  October 29, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    Being able to walk to the library makes such a difference!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  October 29, 2010 at 5:50 pm

      It does! It just feels so, I don’t know, wholesome! Lol

      Reply
  • 5. Erika  |  October 30, 2010 at 12:21 am

    i must say a pink monster looks much more appetizing than a green monster. yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

