Sunday Dinner

August 22, 2010 at 8:00 pm 4 comments

Hello hello!

I am inspired to post because my dinner was just too good not to.  I think August is probably my favourite month for food:  fresh corn, peaches, blueberries, and tomatoes.  It never ceases to amaze me how much better local, freshly grown produce is compared to the stuff shipped in from the other side of the world (no offense, Chile).

Vanessa gave me a basket of her freshly grown tomatoes.  Not only have I spent the day popping the cherry tomatoes into my mouth (not even washing them first!), but I am inspired to grow my own next year.  Of course, I say that every August (“I am going to grow tomatoes next year”, said every year since 2007) but I really MEAN it this time.  All they need is a sprinkle of pepper and I am good to go.

The corn I picked up at the grocery store.  8 for $1.99.  Frugal and fit!

I roasted some new potatoes, a sweet potato and onion in olive oil, rosemary, and thyme.  I probably ate twice the amount on this plate.

Lacking protein, I warmed up five falafel balls I had frozen in my freezer.  I meant to dip them in Greek yogurt, but my yogurt had spoiled!  So much for that plan.  I hate it when dairy expires well before its due date.

Today I also baked a banana bread with chocolate chips.  My secret ingredient is one tablespoon of mayonnaise but the secret is also to make sure you don’t tell anyone because people immediately think it will taste gross.  Of course you can’t even taste it.  It just gives the bread a long-lasting moistness.

******************

I’m about half-way through Radical Homemakers and it is really inspiring me to quit my job and grow tomatoes!  Haha.  But seriously folks.  I am underlining a ton in this book (I feel like I’m back in university!) and will be sure to write some quotes here.  It is re-invigorating my commitment to frugality!  But will I be buying my $1.89 coffee tomorrow morning?  That remains to be seen.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hello again. I’m back!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  August 23, 2010 at 9:58 am

    I am loving the August produce too! I bought corn yesterday, but it didn’t look like it would be very sweet. Turns out it was AWESOME! Things in season are so much better… I will no go eat my peaches!

    Reply
  • 2. Erika  |  August 24, 2010 at 8:53 am

    love the produce this time of year. its all so fresh and local!

    Reply
  • 3. Harvette  |  August 24, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    I do the same thing with tomatoes… next year I really AM gonna do it! I figure now that Im all into having a nice yard, having some fresh veggies just goes along with that.

    Reply
  • 4. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  September 7, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    oh august the month of tomatoes! we have several tomato plants AND neighbors are giving us tomatoes…..um….yeah….we’ve got tomatoes.
    my favorite thing about this post is that you write “favourite” with a U 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

