Hello again.

August 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm 13 comments

This blog feels like it is slowly dying.  You should see my page view stats!  A steep decline!  Ahh!  But I have barely any motivation to write in here.  I did take a picture of my breakfast this morning – Breakfast Quinoa! – but neglected to post it.  Work and summer and life are just too busy!  When I get home from work, the last thing I want to do is sit at a computer after being at one for 9 straight hours.  The project – pursuing frugality and health – are still greatly appealing to me, but more on a “let’s think about this while riding the subway” sort of way rather than a “let’s post about this three times a day” sort of way.  I haven’t been reading others’ food blogs either.  It’s official:  I suck! 

But I am not fully abandoning this blog.  How many blogs have whimpered out after 2 months?  I am determined that won’t happen to this!  I just need to get my mojo back.

In other news, I received the three books I ordered on Amazon!  I read a bit of the hypnobirthing one, but really right now I am interested more in the Radical Homemaking one.  Yes, I am giving birth in a mere 11 weeks (give or take) but my psyche has decided to skip the whole “birthing a human from my body” part and just focus on what it will be like to be home full-time with a newborn.  Funny that!

Speaking of the not-yet-but-almost-a-newborn, he is doing well.  He likes to jab, poke, prod, and kick and I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Every so often, I can feel a body part (an elbow?  a knee?) right near my belly button and it is the neatest thing.  At my last midwife appointment, she said he was already head down.  I wonder if he is still in that position?  It is pretty nuts to have a person inside of you <– understatement.

I am trying to get back on the frugality bandwagon, even though I haven’t been tracking my spending.  It’s not like I am blowing my money on diamonds and gummy bears or anything, but I always feel better when I stick to a budget.  Call me Anal Retentive if you must (just not to my face, ok?).

Foodwise, I am about the same as usual.  Lots of unphotographed peaches!  I am actually overwhelmed this time of year, with the abundance of peaches and blueberries.  So many things to possibly bake!  Last night I made some blueberry muffins.  I would like to make another peach crisp or cobbler.  I have fantasies that next year I will try canning peaches, tomatoes, blueberry jam etc.  This is something I think about every summer, and every summer I put it off to the next year…

Thanks for coming around even though this blog majorly lacks.  As a present, I give you this:

Snooki makes everything better.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Back! Sunday Dinner

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annecalista  |  August 18, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Don’t give up on the blog! I think it’s great. I just made a peach-blueberry crisp today, btw 🙂 Great thing to make with peaches.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 19, 2010 at 8:52 am

      Peach-blueberry is the best of both worlds!

      I am going to try not to give up on the blog — I just need some content ideas!

      Reply
  • 3. annecalista  |  August 18, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    I just saw your previous post- you were a step ahead of me on the peach crisp! haha.

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah  |  August 18, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    SNICKERS!!!!!!!!!!!

    robyn if you ever feel you have too many diamonds or gummy bears, send some my way!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
    • 5. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 19, 2010 at 8:53 am

      I had to search through so many pictures of Snickers to find the right one!

      I will try to remember your request for the diamonds and gummy bears 🙂

      Reply
      • 6. Mike  |  August 19, 2010 at 1:12 pm

        Snookers!!! This blog is the best!

  • 7. Heather  |  August 18, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    I think the pic of snooki is a reminder and validation that YOU indeed, Do not suck! It’s a great reminder of how good you’ve got it, no? 😉
    Glad to hear little man is doin so well!

    Reply
  • 9. Therese  |  August 18, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    I think that after a little while we bloggers are trying to find our “voice”, that one thing that sets us apart from other bloggers. You’ll get into your own groove, girl! I know I can’t do the daily blogging thing as much as I’d love to. Some days I just want to put the camera down and actually live in the moment and not through a lense!

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 19, 2010 at 8:54 am

      I hear you about living in a moment and not through a lense! When I decided to take a day off from taking pictures of my food, I felt liberated! Since then I have been re-evaluating things…the search for the voice continues!

      Reply
  • 11. Erika  |  August 18, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    no pictures of food? that would be way better than austin powers or snookie. ugh… dont give up hun, we love your blog!!

    Reply
  • 13. keephangingon  |  August 22, 2010 at 6:58 am

    haha the pictures are hilarious, seriously. No need to apologize for not blogging! It’s your blog! You can blog whenever and whatever you like! (Though of course I’d like you to blog more so I can read your witty posts). What on earth is hypnobirthing? Does that mean you don’t feel any pain while giving birth?? My mom used to say that giving birth is over-rated and they always exaggerate the pain on TV. She said giving birth is just like taking a poop – push and the baby is out… 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

