Back!

August 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm 16 comments

Ahhhhhh, a complete exhalation to signify how wonderful this weekend has been!  I was barely online at all and spent the majority of the weekend reading magazines, watching movies and TV, hanging out with friends, going out for meals, and cooking!  It was exactly what I needed.  Per my usual Sunday night thoughts, I am sad that tomorrow is Monday.  I am rejuvenated by the fact that I have a mere 11 weeks left of work.  The daily countdown has been on for a while, but I also like to countdown the weeks!  Basically, I am up for any means of counting down as possible.

I saw two movies this weekend:  Eat, Pray, Love and Date Night (on DVD).  EPL was just OK.  I liked the story, the acting, and the cinematography (some day I will get to Italy.  Some day!), but I found it dragged a bit and wasn’t worth the $13 admission price.  Date Night was far superior.  It made me literally LOL multiple times and never dragged (since it was only 80 minutes long!).  I definitely recommend it.

Today, I’ve spent a lot of time in the kitchen, barefoot, and pregnant.  I did this while wearing my feminist badge with honour!

First, I made granola using Heather’s recipe.  I halved the recipe because Husband is not much of a granola-eater and I used walnuts, dates and coconut.  The only problem I had was that it started to burn half way through!  I guess since I halved it, I should have also reduced the temperature.  I picked out the gnarly burnt pieces and am hoping the rest of the granola can be salvaged for my breakfasts this week (one of my time-saving ideas is to “standardize” my breakfasts.  No more variety!  This is so that I can reserve my first-thing-in-the-morning brain power and hopefully sleep in an extra 5 or 10 minutes!).

Next, I decided to make use of the plentiful local peaches currently available and make one of my absolute favourite desserts:  Peach Crisp!  Peach crisp/peach cobbler/peach pie — I will take any and all of it!  There are just a few weeks in August when I am comfortable using perfectly delicious peaches in a baked dish (preferring to eat them raw instead) so today was the day.

I borrowed The Pioneer Woman’s cookbook from the library and made her recipe for Peach Crisp with Maple Cream Sauce, except I didn’t make the cream sauce because I am a Crisp Purist.  It is true; I would rather eat my fruit crisps without the addition of cream or vanilla ice cream!  This is sacrilege to many, but I find any additions to Crisp to ultimately be too distracting.

I decided to try a trick I had heard about for peeling peaches.  I boiled the peaches whole for 30 seconds and then removed them using a slotted spoon into a bowl of ice water for 15 seconds.  They cool down immediately and their skin practically falls off.  No more struggling with a paring knife and juicy peaches!

My newer, firmer peaches still required a paring knife, but the two peaches I used that had been sitting in the fruit bowl for a few days were perfect.

As cathartic to remove as flaky, sunburnt skin!  Gross.  But true.

I wish I had taken a picture of the final product, along with the bowl of it I had while watching Big Brother tonight, but cameras were the last thing on my mind.  My first Peach Crisp of the season was a holy occasion.  It’s like not being able to take pictures inside of the Louvre.  Some things are just too sacred for photography.  Or…

maybe I just forgot 😉

This Peach Crisp was AMAZING.  One of the best I’ve ever had.  This does not surprise me considering the amount of butter used (The butter-to-tastiness ratio is almost always spot on!)

I wanted to make something really wholesome and satisfying for dinner.  I wanted to use my crock pot but no recipes were jumping out at me, so I pored through my cookbooks and came upon a recipe for Homespun Veggie Pot Pie in the Moosewood cookbook.  Something about the word “homespun” just called out to me.  Plus it was PERFECT because as I was preparing it, it was pouring rain outside.  Talk about cozy!

Completely amazing!  I liked this recipe because of the abundance of vegetables, and the ability to make use with what you have.  It called for peas but I’m out, so I used green beans.  I didn’t have enough mushrooms so I just added more sweet potato.  The best part was the dumpling top!  Of course, dumplings are the best part of anything.

As you can see, I am feeling very domestic today.  The barefoot and pregnant look really works for me!  Now if only I could bring home a pay cheque by staying home and cooking and baking all day (and eating.  Did I mention that part?)

Speaking of pay cheques, I have not been very frugal lately.  I haven’t been tracking my spending and I have been eating out a lot more than usual (even today I went out for brunch.  Yikes!).  I know that my life is just a bit chaotic lately and that I will resume the budget when I can.  I am basically staying within it now, I just don’t have the paper trail to back this up.  In any event, I went on Amazon tonight and bought three books.  Whoops!  But I had to spend the $39 in order to get free shipping.  That’s frugal, right?  😛 <– I am sticking out my tongue at you!

I bought:

Hypnobirthing:  The breakthrough natural approach to safer, easier, more comfortable birthing

Radical Homemakers:  Reclaiming Domesticity from a Consumer Culture

More-with-Less Cookbook

1.  I bought the Hypnobirthing book because I have heard only amazing things about this technique.  It comes with a CD which I plan to load up onto my iPod and do as one of my pregnant BFFs does and listen to it before bed and then during labour.  I’m not taking a childbirth education class because I prefer to learn by reading independently, so I hope that this, along with my beloved Ina May Gaskin’s Guide to Childbirth, helps make birth go as smooth as possible (at least the part that is within my power!).

2.  You may have been able to tell that I am looking forward to a year off from professional employment to stay at home with my baby boy and take care of my husband and cats (the cats demand so much attention!  Always with the meowing and the petting and the cuddling).  I’ve read a bit about this book and think it is up my alley!  I don’t want to be like June Cleaver.  I want to be a thrifty, cloth-diapering, vegetarian-baking domestic diva!  Oh god, I just referred to myself as a diva…

3.  This cookbook was a total impulse purchase.  Lord knows I have enough cookbooks, but I like that this one has been around for decades, is based on Mennonite cooking, and uses really basic ingredients.  Usually my big deterrent to cooking is having the recipe match up with the ingredients I have on hand.  If I have a cookbook that uses ingredients already in my fridge and pantry, then hopefully I will do more cooking from scratch and rely less on prepackaged meals.  So frugal and also so fit.

So there you have it!  I don’t write in here for two days, and then I spew out a bunch of nonsense all in one go!  You’re welcome 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Not dead Hello again.

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erika  |  August 15, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    how homemakery are you? is that even a word? you inspire me to want to cook better. now i just have to do it! glad you had such a wonderful weekend, you deserve it!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 16, 2010 at 3:57 pm

      Thanks! I was definitely feeling homemakery and miss it today while sitting at a computer 😦

      Reply
  • 3. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  August 15, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    My best friend did the hypnobirthing technique and had an all-natural delivery and loved it. She said it really helped. Happy reading!

    Reply
  • 5. Kim  |  August 16, 2010 at 8:08 am

    Amazon always sucks me in with their free shipping! I refuse to spend $6-7 on it when I could be getting a book instead!

    I have never had peach crisp or peach anything. I honestly think the only way I’ve ever eaten peaches is fresh! I might have to fix that this summer!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 16, 2010 at 3:58 pm

      Peach baked goods are such a pleasure because they can be made with fresh peaches for such a short time. I hope you’re able to get your hands on some!

      Reply
  • 7. Therese  |  August 16, 2010 at 9:25 am

    I think your domestic weekend is shaping up to be like my vacation this week! I’ve already made three new recipes and spent hours gardening. Today I just plan to garden, clean and cook! Oye. What has my life become?!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 16, 2010 at 3:59 pm

      Your life has become my dream, basically! 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Harvette  |  August 16, 2010 at 9:32 am

    That is such a bummer that your granola started burning! Yeah, I’d say the temp is definitely for a very filled pan of granola, that you stir around often… otherwise I bet you could get away with cooking it at 300 for only like 10-12 minutes!

    I recommend making the full recipe though. Mine lasted about a week and a half (uh, I do consume a LOT of granola heh) and was fine in the cabinet. I bet it would have stayed good for quite a while longer. so the bigger batch is, in the end, works out. 😉

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 16, 2010 at 3:59 pm

      I really enjoyed the granola, even though it was semi-burnt, and it was very filling! Next time I will probably make the full batch!

      Reply
  • 11. Heather  |  August 16, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Steve Carell ALWAYS makes me laugh….even as cartoon charactes 🙂
    The more with less and radical homemaker books look right up my alley! I’ll check to see if I can find them via the library system.
    Nice post today!

    Reply
    • 12. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 16, 2010 at 4:00 pm

      Steve Carell is really endearing in this movie. Not like Michael Scott at all, but still does the funny voices!

      Reply
      • 13. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:32 am

        have you ever seen “Dan in Real Life.”? i think that’s one of his BEST movies…..he plays a single dad of 3 girls. I LOVE him in that, funny and charming.
        i also love the remake of “Get Smart” with The Rock.
        anyway, yeah, he’s cool 🙂

      • 14. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 18, 2010 at 1:58 pm

        Yes, “Dan in Real Life” is excellent!

  • 15. J- Dizzle to the RIzzle  |  August 18, 2010 at 12:14 am

    We watched that movie this weekend too.

    I thought of me and you. http://dinersjournal.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/08/17/reader-photos-what-food-souvenirs-do-you-bring-home/

    Reply
    • 16. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 18, 2010 at 1:58 pm

      My favourite thing about going on vacation is buying the local food items. Of course, you already knew that about me!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

