Happy birthday!

August 11, 2010 at 9:01 am 1 comment

To my husband.  I left him a birthday card this morning along with some money to buy his lunch out.  If I can’t take him out for lunch, then at least I can pretend to!  We are going out for dinner at a restaurant that gives you your meal for free on your birthday!  Yes, that’s right… Tucker’s Marketplace!  Hello, BUFFET.  It has been too long (like only three weeks probably, but still!).

This morning I slept in a bit (much needed — I was absolutely pooped yesterday!) and had a simple breakfast of a toasted sandwich thin smeared with almond butter and apricot jam along with a fruit salad made out of 1/2 sliced banana, 6 sliced strawberries, and a handful of blueberries.

I was thinking of taking myself out to lunch today too since:

1) Too tired to make a lunch last night

2) It’s payday with my new raise!

3) A new “Thai Express” opened up really close to my work

I hemmed and hawed and contemplated both the nutritional value and flavour explosion of pad thai, but I ultimately decided to bring a lunch.  I just packed a ton of snacks that I will eat throughout the day.  I’m going out for dinner tonight so I will eat a giant salad then.  Is it just me, or do other people make “deals” with themself? (i.e. “I don’t need tons of veggies for lunch because I will have them for dinner”;  “If I go for a 1/2 hour walk I can eat a cookie”)  That sort of thing.  My deal with myself today is that I didn’t walk to the subway (too humid!) which meant no pad thai for me.

It is complicated to be me, let me tell you 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

F$^@ing Beets! Random

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Harvette  |  August 11, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    We all make those deals with ourselves 😉 in fact, that is how I run… “I ran up all the hills, so I can walk for two minutes .. Or until I get to that big tree.” totally thought I was the only one until
    I overheard people making those kinds of deals when talking to the friends they were running with!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

