F$^@ing Beets!

August 10, 2010 at 8:31 pm 7 comments

I don’t mean to use such harsh language (or harsh…uh…symbols) but I am officially boycotting beets!  I neither love nor hate their flavour but they are persnickety little fellas to peel and they stain EVERYTHING red.  They kept slipping out of my hands and dropping to the floor, and on their way staining my shirt, the counter, and the floor.  Perhaps I yelled my post title a couple of times?  I don’t usually have the mouth of a sailor, but the beets brought it out in me.  I just hope the baby was asleep at the time… 🙂

Today was totally busy at work and I neglected all of my favourite websites in favour of work!  But it was also a highly productive day and can I mention that I am totally rocking this new job?  This doesn’t mean I have abandoned my countdown, though, nor my fantasies of spending the entirety of January, February and March in sweat pants (lucky Husband!).

For an afternoon snack, I had some dried apricots and almonds!  This is a really satisfying, easy to prepare snack and I highly recommend it.

I also ate my delicious apple, aptly named a Red Delicious.

When I got home, the last thing I wanted to do was make dinner, but I had a package of tempeh and a hungry belly.  Defeat was not a possibility.

I began by cutting up some green beans and the aforementioned (f$%@ing!) beets and putting them in my two-tiered steamer with some frozen vegetables.  Both of us are feeling veggie-deprived which explains this abundance.

Then I whipped open this package of tempeh given to me by my awesome, culinary-gifted friends Cheryl and Nick!

I appreciate the photo of Henry.  I really like his hat.

I have never cooked with tempeh but have had it once or twice before.  I decided to search for recipes on http://www.allrecipes.com that use tempeh and came upon this one for Barbecue Tempeh Sandwiches.  I was sold!

I crumbled the tempeh and mixed it with barbecue sauce…

While it marinated, I sauteed the onion, green pepper, and some leftover corn.

Eventually, I added the tempeh mixture.

This doesn’t exactly look yummy, does it.

I served the tempeh mixture on buns (open-faced) along with the steamed green beans and vegetables.  You will notice that the beets are missing from my plate because I have officially BOYCOTTED beets.  Husband got them all.  I want nothing to do with their kind!

My verdict on tempeh?  Pretty good!  I wasn’t blown away, but I attribute that more to the recipe I used.  Rule of thumb:  When using tempeh, one should probably consult a vegan source, like a great website or cookbook.  I will try it again!  And not just because I like Henry’s hat.

For dessert, I had more ice cream cake along with some sliced peaches.  On Saturday, I would have told you that this ice cream cake was going to last forever.  Now there are a mere four slices left.

To decompress after such a long, arduous, beet-filled day, I am now going to sit on the couch and watch Dexter.  See you tomorrow!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Swamped Happy birthday!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. land animal  |  August 10, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Girl, beets do stain! I was so surprised when I cut them for the first time recently. My hands always look like they are covered with blood after. But my biggest beef with beets is their flavor. It’s so rough. I can’t get around to learning to like it. I will continue to eat them though bc they can improve endurance and who doesn’t want that in their life? Lol

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 11, 2010 at 8:54 am

      You are a motivated woman! At least the bloody juice was easy to get off my counters and floor. My tank top is another story that has yet to be told!

      Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  August 11, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Kudos to you for at least trying to use beets! I won’t bother as they’re not my favourite anyway!

    Love tempeh though! I love it crumbled and in pasta sauce similar to using veggie ground round!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 11, 2010 at 8:54 am

      Ooh, that’s a great idea for tempeh! I know that my friend Cheryl makes “bacon” out of it which intrigues me greatly.

      Reply
  • 5. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  August 11, 2010 at 8:50 am

    ha!!!! Girl, you had me laughin so hard about the beets!
    steamed beets, huh? i’m a beet lover obviously, (i mean, who else do you know that makes beet ice cream?) but, i only do roasted or pickled, or roasted and then made into ice cream.
    thanks for the good laugh this morning 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 11, 2010 at 8:55 am

      Maybe if I roasted or pickled them, they’d be worth the effort. However, since I am officially boycotting, I will never know! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Erika  |  August 11, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    beets will make other things turn colour as well. just watch the toilet bowl… lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

