Stating the obvious

August 9, 2010 at 7:28 pm 5 comments

My inclination now when writing a post title is to just write the name of the meal I am having, i.e. “Dinner”.  Way to state the obvious, right?  I feel like my creativity is slowly draining out of me.  Perhaps it is all going to the little boy I am currently creating?  Yes, I will go with that theory.

I never did have the apple on my way out of work today.  I saved myself for the delicious orange crush I got to drink as part of my glucose tolerance test!  It tasted exactly like orange crush and I had to jug it really quickly because they needed to draw my blood exactly an hour after I drank it and they closed at 5 (it was 3:50 when I drank it).  Much tastier than that chalky drink they give you before a CT scan!  I’m not sure how the test goes.  I will probably get the results in two weeks at my next midwife appointment.

I have passed that milestone where my appointments go from every 4 weeks to every 2 weeks.  Plus I got a binder!  And they talked to me about what to bring in my hospital bag.  I’m allowed to bring and eat food!  And hubby can bring a swimsuit to take into the jacuzzi with me.  He didn’t realize we would have access to a jacuzzi.

Anyway, for dinner tonight I had a combination of leftovers:  Pizza (with broccoli, mushrooms, and feta), corn, and corn chipotle salad.  It is that time of year when fresh corn is abundant.  I have no problem with that.

We bought a gigantic ice cream cake for the barbecue on Saturday but grossly overestimated the number of people who would be eating the cake (the person whose birthday we were celebrating didn’t arrive until after 10 pm!).  Thus, we have lots and lots of ice cream cake left.  Again, I have no problem with this.

It’s a strawberry cheesecake blizzard cake!  Humina.

I will probably spend the rest of the evening with a cup of decaf green tea.  After the rigors of my social weekend, I am ready to chillax!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Simple food Swamped

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  August 9, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    Mmm!!! Dairy Queen cake!!! You can give me a piece! YUM!

    Reply
  • 3. Stacey  |  August 10, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    Dinner looks good; dessert looks better!!

    Reply
  • 5. Erika  |  August 10, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    the glucose drink didnt taste like orange crush to me… and you got to eat through the day? mine was early in the morning and i had to fast all night. no fair… hope you pass!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

