Drained

August 4, 2010 at 9:35 pm 2 comments

As I expected, I didn’t have it in me to make much of a dinner.  When I got home, the kitchen sink was full of dirty dishes and I almost burst out crying.  These pregnancy hormones are killer!  I love pregnancy, but this emotional roller coaster has overstayed its welcome.

In any event, I managed to stifle my tears long enough to scramble some eggs with veggies and serve them with a toasted Wheat thin.  This was the first time I really got a taste of the Wheat thin (without it being overpowered by peanut butter) and they are awfully sweet!  I mean, they are tasty, but bread isn’t supposed to be that sweet I don’t think…Hmmm…

Served on a side plate to give the illusion of more food!

And then I just WENT FOR IT and ate an entire half a cantaloupe.  Did you know that cantaloupe is infinitely tastier if you sprinkle it with a bit of salt?  I speak only the truth.

And then I WENT FOR IT again and ate two low-fat brownies.

Tomorrow I will try to actually cook a meal for dinner.

I think I alluded to this before, but once work or life becomes more stressful, the desire to spend money becomes greater and greater.  Well, maybe the desire to spend money doesn’t increase, but the desire to be conservative with money definitely decreases!  I find myself not caring as much about sticking to my budget and watching my pennies, since I have greater concerns to think about now.  It’s a tough deal!  You make more money, you spend more money, and so the cycle goes…

I think I need to dust off my copy of Your Money or Your Life!

Well I am just proud of myself for making it through another day AND having posted all three times.  Now if only I could find the energy to read some of my favourite food blogs out there…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Waiting for the bus Blame the iPhone

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  August 5, 2010 at 7:43 am

    😦 Sorry you had a crappy hormonal evening! And you know, it makes sense that you would become less frugal. When you have a goal that requires a lot of effort, like being frugal or losing weight, and you’re confronted with something else that requires your undivided attention (stress), it’s soooo easy to slack off with what you were trying to focus on to begin with. The research paper I’ve been talking about lately actually deals with that very idea! That we become dinihibited with our goals under emotional distress!

    Just keep reminding yourself of your end goal and think twice when you want to part with your cash. It’s a lot of work but you’ll get there!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 5, 2010 at 9:26 am

      I like having a friend who is majoring in psychology. You have great insight! Losing sight of our goals under emotional stress totally makes sense. I have to focus on the stresses in my life, I can’t be bothered with worrying about spending $2 on a cup of coffee. I keep trying to remind myself that if my goals were easy, then EVERYONE would be doing them, right? Life is tough, but the payoff is worth it. I need to remember that!

      Thanks 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

