A Vegetarian at Rib Fest: A Hungry Tale

August 2, 2010 at 8:26 pm 13 comments

I am so sad.  It is Monday night after a long weekend, which means that work is all too imminent.  I am trying to remain positive and bribe myself with promises of coffee and larabars tomorrow, but still.  Starting a new job is never fun!  Starting a new job when you are still doing your old job is also not fun.  I’m not sure I will be able to write tomorrow morning, but I will try!

As God as my witness, I will try.

But today has been a fun day, even though it meant surrounding myself with abundant amounts of barbecued meat.  The things we do for love!  Really, the things we do to get out of the house for a couple of hours 😉

Before we left, I filled myself with a sliced mango, some cottage cheese, and a slice of zucchini loaf.  I didn’t want to take any chances and rely on a ribfest to feed me lunch.

I’ve attended one ribfest before and this one was exactly like the previous.  A packed park filled with a greater number of tattooed women than you will find in regular society, waiting in long lines to buy expensive meat!

A pulled pork sandwich, a quarter chicken, and a 1/2 rack of ribs…for one person.

Mike ordered something called a “vegetarian’s nightmare” and this is how they labeled the container:

I don’t know who Jacki is, but his meal was definitely not “veggie”

I wasn’t sure what to get since my vegetarian choices were funnel cake, a bloomin’ onion, or french fries.  Luckily husband spotted a sign for a roasted yam!  I knew this would be my salvation.

$4!  I could have made this at home for 75 cents 😉

But it was delicious with a tad of butter and brown sugar.  I was content.

I became even more content once I got an iced cappuccino!

And we shared some of these amazing donuts.  Have you heard of Tiny Tom?

These are freshly fried tiny donuts that are sprinkled in your choice of sugar or cinnamon.  They are served warm, fresh, and absolutely delicious!

I am not sure how many of these I ate.  I can verify that it was a lot.

Because of my sugar and carb rush, I kept things light for dinner and had a monster salad.

You will see this salad tomorrow and Wednesday because I made four at once (one for hubby).  It contains:

  • Spinach
  • Broccoli
  • Mushrooms
  • Tomato
  • Red pepper
  • Avocado
  • Zucchini
  • Chickpeas
  • Cubed cheddar
  • Raisins
  • Walnuts
  • Mediterranean dressing

Now I am trying to keep myself occupied and entertained until bedtime.  We will probably watch more Dexter and go to bed at a decent time while dreaming of winning the lottery (although this fantasy would be helped if I actually bought a ticket!).

See you tomorrow!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Another Fabulous Monday Remember me?

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  August 2, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    “A packed park filled with a greater number of tattooed women than you will find in regular society, waiting in long lines to buy expensive meat!”

    best sentance ever.

    ps. that place looks like something that would appear in one of my nightmares. you will have to make sure to subject both these men to the veggie food fair in september 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Mike  |  August 2, 2010 at 10:03 pm

      How are the ribs at the veggie food fair?

      Reply
      • 3. Sarah  |  August 2, 2010 at 10:51 pm

        ummm i’m guessing they’d be fabulous because they’d be meat free… probably called a “carnivore’s nightmare”.

      • 4. Mike  |  August 2, 2010 at 10:59 pm

        Fabulous and meat free? Are you allowed to say that in the same
        sentance? 🙂

  • 5. Mel  |  August 2, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Were you in town this weekend? That looks suspiciously like our ribfest. Unless there was one in your neck of the woods too…

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 3, 2010 at 6:44 pm

      It sounds like there were many ribfests around. I went to the one in Scarborough but I hear there was also one in London! Many, many ribs were eaten…

      Reply
  • 7. Erika  |  August 3, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    was this london’s ribfest? we were gonna go, but had too many things on the go. if you were this close to me, im greatly disappointed! london is just 10 mins. from here!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 3, 2010 at 6:44 pm

      Nope, it was the ribfest in Scarborough! Sounds like there were many ribfests around this weekend…

      Reply
  • 9. Sarah  |  August 3, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    did every city have a ribfest over the weekend?

    i overheard a bunch of people at work today talking about being sick this past weekend and trying to determine what type of meat it was that caused it. good thing you and i don’t have to worry about that, eh robyn? 😛

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 3, 2010 at 6:46 pm

      too many ribfests! we should definitely go to veggie fest in september to counteract all of this meaty grossness 🙂

      Reply
      • 11. Sarah  |  August 3, 2010 at 7:16 pm

        for sure! out of all the years we’ve both gone, we’ve never gone together… weird. let’s change that this year 🙂

  • 12. Sarah  |  August 3, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    and yes, you can use fabulous and meat free in the same sentance… don’t let robyn’s baby carrots fool you 🙂

    Reply
    • 13. Mike  |  August 3, 2010 at 7:55 pm

      But I love baby Carrots 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

