Caturday Continues

July 31, 2010 at 8:54 pm 3 comments

I spent most of my day with these little guys…

That is one worn out rug.  But it was free.  Frugal!

So I baked the zucchini loaf and watched a movie all before 9 am and then I proceeded to clean out my refrigerator which is a feat never accomplished before.  To answer some of your questions: Yes, I have lived here over a year.  Yes, I am very lazy.  And, yes, it feels great to have a clean fridge!  I threw out old jars of olives, empty jars of jam, spoiled applesauce, and moldy hummus.  It was pretty disgusting.  I am so glad it is done!

For lunch, I had an Arnold Wheat thin topped with microwaved eggs (2 whole eggs), sliced tomato, and cheese.  Delicious!

I also had a slice of zucchini loaf.  Maybe half the loaf is gone already?  But I’ll never tell!

I spent the early afternoon in my backyard with my iPhone, a stack of old magazines, a library book, and a Chocolate Cherry Bomb!  Perfection, thy name is a mid-summer day.

Ironic that the magazine talks about “more energy now!” because I only lasted about an hour before I headed inside for an afternoon nap.  Did I mention I got out of bed at 5:39 am? 🙂

I nibbled on chocolate, trail mix, and more zucchini bread (!).  I did some laundry.  I stared into the baby’s crib (my current favourite hobby.  14 more weeks to go!).  Hubby got home and we lazed around.  I began to crave pizza even though husband wasn’t hungry at all.  Ordering pizza alone is no fun, plus it is neither fit nor frugal.  So I decided to create my own pizza substitute using the minimal amount of groceries we have.

First, I sauteed some zucchini, broccoli, and onion in herbs, garlic powder, and olive oil…

I microwaved a couple of sundried tomato tortillas and then stuffed them with this veggie mix and some cheese.  I heated up a small bowl of marinara sauce for dipping purposes.  Ta da!  Cheap, easy, pizza-craving-satiating dinner!

For dessert, I had a small bowl of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream, aka best ice cream ever.

Tonight we are watching Dexter, that show about the likable, sociopath serial killer.  Good times!  Who knows what tomorrow will bring?  I am hoping something tasty…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Walnut Raisin Zucchini Bread Frugal Brunch. Frunch?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  July 31, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    nice book choice… i had read that awhile ago and so i just googled it because i couldn’t remember the storyline (other than it having to do with someone getting married) – did you know they made a movie based on this book?? starring gerard butler? (HOT!) how did i not know this? must locate and watch asap!

    Reply
    • 2. Sarah  |  July 31, 2010 at 10:30 pm

      i stand corrected – it was a tv series….

      Reply
    • 3. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  August 1, 2010 at 9:48 am

      I think I read it back in my early university days (I cleared through most of St. Catharines’ Public Library chick lit during my summers off from reading Shakespeare!), but it’s been fun to re-read it since I hardly remember it. I would love to see the tv series with Gerard Butler! If either of us locates it, we should watch it together 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


