Please forgive me

July 30, 2010 at 7:55 pm 10 comments

Can you forgive these faces?

We are all so sorry that it has been over 24 hour since I last wrote in this.  What kind of thrice-daily food blogger do I take myself for?  My excuse is, of course, that I am pregnant and last night I was subjected to one of my favourite hormonal activites, that is, a Pregnant Lady Meltdown (PLM).  To make a long story short, I kind of ruined my husband’s birthday surprise dinner and then proceeded to spend an hour crying about it.  Hello irrationality!  It took a bowl of ice cream and an episode of Big Brother to regain my senses.

I didn’t update today because my place of employment has imploded.  I am starting my new job on Tuesday but, really, the extra work has already begun.  Did I mention that they haven’t hired a replacement for my current position yet and I will effectively be doing two jobs at the same time all the while growing a fetus and being subjected to PLMs?  Yes, fun!  I stayed three hours late to work today (usually I get out at 12 on Fridays, today not until after 3!) and am fearful of what the next three months contain.  64 days to go (not that I am counting)!

I am not sure what my posting schedule will be like in the future.  I would like to continue with three times a day, but I just don’t know if I have it in me.  The job with the pay cheque kind of takes precedent over the job with the fun food pictures, y’know?

But I have a good post for you!  Let me be your Friday night entertainment.

First, I tried to make Greek yogurt!

Last night, I took a colander, a bowl, and three coffee filters…

I was excited that this make-shift contraption fit in my fridge!

I added almost a full container of 1% plain yogurt and let it sit over night.  This morning, I scooped it out and put it back in the container.  It was WAY thicker, WAY tastier, and seemed to decrease in volume by almost half!  A lot of yogurty water (yum!) drained out of it.

I am incredibly impressed!  Thanks Anne!  I am pretty sure you just changed my life.

Secondly, my friend Mike gave me some fresh, local produce today.  A good friend is a friend who gives you free vegetables.

Waiting for me in my backyard…

I think Martha Stewart would approve of this arrangement

The zucchini is probably the largest I have ever seen in my entire life.  I have dreams of zucchini loaf in my immediate future.  And what is it about local tomatoes that makes them about 4,000 times better than any you buy in the grocery store?

I had to make a Greek salad out of this stuff.  It was a necessity!  My dinner tonight:

Snobby joes on an Arnold Wheat Thin (Thank you, America!) along with a Greek salad made with cucumber, yellow beans, tomato, red wine vinegar, oil, oregano, basil, garlic powder, feta, and black pepper.

Delicious!  But the best was yet to come.  I finally decided to try Banana Soft Serve.  Took me long enough!

First, I took two sliced, frozen bananas and put them in my food processor…

At first, they blended up into tiny granules of banana.  I knew that I had to give this a couple of minutes.  Occasionally, I stopped it and scraped the sides of the processor.

Eventually, something magical transpired and this is what resulted:

I was pretty excited to say the least.

This did change my life.

Food discoveries like this one just rejuvenate my whole philosophy about healthy eating!  I was starting to get back onto the processed food/unhealthful bandwagon (I partly blame the container of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream that continues to taunt me from my freezer!), but eating this for dessert just felt great.  It was so simple, easy, and delicious.  Aforementioned Mike also told me about http://www.mamaearth.ca, a local home delivery, organic food service.  It’s kind of like a CSA but runs year round and they deliver to your home.  Imagine getting a box of fresh food delivered to your house in the middle of a cold January day?!  Sounds perfect!  I am seriously thinking about it.  It is not the most frugal move in the Handbook of Frugal Moves, but it greatly appeals to me…

Plus, if I get a juicer like I am convinced I need (thanks Callie ;)), then I could use the extra veggies for that!  So many possibilities…

My weekend plans are pretty willy nilly as of now.  There will be sleeping, there will be crocheting, there will be Banana Soft Serve.  I just want to coddle myself this weekend in preparation for the work week (and remaining three months) ahead of me.  I am actually stressed out about getting too stressed out.  Is that normal?  I just need to repeat the mantra “a day at a time, a day at a time…”.  Honestly, I have never been so anxious for fall and winter to get here!  For now, though, I try to enjoy the summer and all the fresh tomatoes it may bring.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Cake. I like cake. Walnut Raisin Zucchini Bread

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  July 30, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    AWWWW poor robyn 😦 meltdowns of any kind suck. i have had a few work related ones myself this year…perhaps i can come work as your temp for a few months? i’m sure my boss won’t mind…. 😛

    i think you might need real ice cream…not mashed up bananers…this is my medical diagnosis. chocolate and ice cream heal all…

    mmmmm zuchinni loaf. i am waiting for my sister’s zuchinnis to be ready so i can make one. i was tempted back when nessy gave me one of hers, but i think i just ended up using it in a pasta dish. that’s really sweet of your friend mike to bring you veggies 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 30, 2010 at 9:21 pm

      I would love for you to come work as the temp! Of course, we would not get any work done….even better!

      This Mike fellow is very nice. Very generous with the produce. I think you would like him…:)

      Reply
  • 3. Jim Bob Joe  |  July 31, 2010 at 2:58 am

    Mike sounds like a tool!

    Reply
  • 5. Sarah  |  July 31, 2010 at 8:43 am

    sounds like hubby found your blog…..

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 31, 2010 at 8:57 am

      Oh, that’s not hubby…;)

      Reply
      • 7. Sarah  |  July 31, 2010 at 3:38 pm

        jim bob duggar? 😛

      • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 31, 2010 at 8:40 pm

        Close! 🙂

  • 9. Mel  |  July 31, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    That banana thing looks good! Though, everything on here always looks good. Except the carrots. 😉

    A friend of mine does the produce delivery thing, she loves it!

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 31, 2010 at 8:40 pm

      You are not a carrot lover? I had no idea!

      I think produce delivery could change my life. And make me poorer. But definitely change my life!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


