Fage

July 28, 2010 at 7:38 pm 4 comments

Fage is the weirdest-named brand I have ever heard of.  It’s pronounced “Fa-yeh”.  At least that is what they tell me.  I don’t know where they got the name, but I can attest to you:  It is delicious.

Labeled with my name for work fridge purposes 🙂

When I first gave this yogurt a closer inspection, I wasn’t too impressed.  For a small container, it contains 180 calories and only 10 grams of protein.  Granted, 10 grams of protein is nothing to sneeze at, but I am used to monstrous numbers when it comes to Greek yogurt.  15…18….20!  10 seems like peanuts.

But I was impressed!

I loved the separate section for the honey!  It allowed me to be discriminating with my yogurt:honey ratio.  Sometimes I went heavy on the honey, other times not so much.   The texture and the flavour of the yogurt was great, too.  Sometimes Greek yogurt can have an overpowering “yogurt” tartness, if that makes any sense.   The honey may have masked the tartness, but this was wonderful!

One of the better Greek yogurt brands I have tried for sure.  Two thumbs up!

I also had a granola bar for a snack.  My days of solitary afternoon snacks are long behind me.

This was a Nature Valley “Oats ‘n’ Honey” granola bar.  Also 180 calories.  Yes, I ate 360 calories’ worth of afternoon snacks.  What’s it to ya?!!?

Dinner was on the lighter side, because I didn’t feel like cooking.  I have recently discovered that we have access to all episodes of Jersey Shore “on demand”.  Did I want to spend the night cooking dinner, or spend the night watching Snooki?  I chose Snooki.

So I had a can of soup and an english muffin with this fancy almond butter!

I picked up this packet at Wegman’s in the States.  I have seen it on food blogs before and was anxious to try it.  I probably should have kept it for one of those times I was “on the go”, but let’s face it.  I am rarely on the go.  I am mostly on the stay.  As in, staying put on my couch watching Jersey Shore.

It was OK, but not as good as I hoped.  I didn’t really taste the maple.  Maranatha is far superior.

The entire can of minestrone soup was 180 calories.  What is up with food quantities with exactly 180 calories?

Bootsy says “What, no cottage cheese?”

There is a container of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream in my freezer.  Pregnant lady happy.

I DEVOURED this.  It was dead in its tracks.  It had no hope.  Not with me around.

I could tell you that I had seconds of this ice cream, which is neither a frugal or fit move.  But then I’d have to kill you 😉

Tomorrow, I hope to eat a few less processed foods and a few more veggies!  And a bit less ice cream.  Maybe.


Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Mental Health Day Bubba Gump

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey @ Tipping the (Kitchen!) Scales  |  July 29, 2010 at 5:22 am

    I love (Fage) Total 2% greek, it’s the best I’ve tasted here in the UK. I also love those Nature Valley granola bars but haven’t had one for ages!!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 29, 2010 at 8:16 am

      I am a total Fage lover now! If only it were available in Canada 😦

      Reply
  • 3. Harvette  |  July 29, 2010 at 10:27 am

    I am at the point in my Fage 2% yogurt consumption that I ought to buy stock in the company, because I buy so much I must be contributing a substantial amount to their profits! Well, it’s a substantial amount of MY paycheck anyway… hehe.

    My favorite lunch is Fage 2% (I buy the big, huge container because it’s much more frugal), 1 tbsp honey or raspberry jam and granola. I’ve been eating it regularly for years.

    I also LOVE to add about 1/3 cup or so of Fage to any fruit-only smoothie, but better tasting that milk and so much more protein. I find that most smoothies, even a beloved green monster, has too many carbs/sugar and leaves me feeling pretty blah, unless I combine it with a large amount of protein.

    Oh, and the 2% is GREAT strained for about 8 hours and mixed with fresh herbs and spices as a dip or cheese spread to impress your friends at a party.

    I could probably go on for days about Fage and all it’s uses. It’s kind of sad that yogurt excites me this much. hehe.

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 29, 2010 at 11:06 am

      Wow, I am feeling you on the yogurt love! I dream of the day I can add Greek yogurt to GMs. I also dream of the day that Fage comes to Canada, as well as Target. (Might as well add Trader Joe’s in there too while I’m at it!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


