Beer

July 28, 2010 at 8:29 am 11 comments

Another friend came over last night, so I ended up going to bed at the vampire hour of 11:45 pm!!!  In my regimented world of 8.5 hours of sleep, this is unheard of.  But it’s been so fun to have friends stay with us and take us out of our usual weekday routine (dinner, clean, TV, repeat).  They are leaving today, but I am determined to get out of our mundane routine!  Maybe I can convince husband to go for a walk to Starbs or something…

I had less than 6 hours of sleep last night, but I am feeling surprisingly sprightly.  It’s pay day!  That may have something to do with it.  Also, the promise of a long weekend is imminent!

For breakfast, I had a sliced mango with 2% cottage cheese…

And two slices of whole wheat toast with a bit of margarine!

The mango was perfect.  Sometimes mangoes are under-ripe, hard, and yellow-green.  Other times, they are over-ripe, mushy and difficult to cut.  This one was just right.  It was the “mama bear” of mangoes (Little Red Riding Hood reference ftw!).

While eating breakfast, I noticed an advertisement for the beer store on the kitchen table.  Much beer has been consumed the past few days.  (None by me, of course!)  I thought I would snap some photos to share with my American friends:

Expensive much?  I can’t believe one bottle of Corona is $3.55!  Then again, I don’t hesitate to spend that much on one latte…

Time to press the nose against the grindstone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Meet Brutus Mental Health Day

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim  |  July 28, 2010 at 8:46 am

    It is crazy how much cheaper beer is in the States! I was amazed when I went there a few summers ago!

    That Corona though, it’s a giant wine-sized bottle!

    Reply
    • 2. Kim  |  July 28, 2010 at 8:46 am

      That said, I live right next to Quebec so we usually cross over to the Costco and pick up a 2-4 for arounf $20+deposit. Or the giant bullets of 55 cans for $50.

      Reply
    • 3. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 28, 2010 at 9:44 am

      Ah, that would explain the price of the Corona. I was going to say!

      Reply
  • 4. Amanda C  |  July 28, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Ah, Ontario! While the LCBO is amazing (lots of selection for good prices, at least compared to QC), your beer stores aren’t so hot. I remember being shocked the first time someone told me you couldn’t buy beer at convenience and grocery stores. And so expensive! But then I rarely buy beer, instead people bring it over and leave it in my fridge, so the odd time I get a beer urge I’ve got some. Either that or I buy fancy pants microbrew beer and hoard it.

    I know you’re not a beer drinker (especially not now), but there’s this hibiscus beer I like that is such a girly beer, and so awesome, it doesn’t taste like beer! You’d probably really like it! It’s expensive though (6/$14), so instead we just go to the place where its brewed which happens to be like 4 blocks from our place, and drink it for $6/pint.

    Reply
    • 5. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 28, 2010 at 9:45 am

      I am not a beer drinker, but there is a type of beer called Fruli that I like. And I am a huge fan of cider!

      The beer selection at Wegman’s is outstanding. I keep trying sips of husband’s beers, waiting for one to impress me, but none ever has!

      Reply
  • 6. land animal  |  July 28, 2010 at 9:13 am

    11:15 is a vampire hour?! I am pretty much nocturnal. I do some of my best work in the very early AM hours.

    Reply
    • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 28, 2010 at 9:46 am

      It’s totally not a vampire hour, I just wrote that because to my early-to-bed self it is! I am a morning person, through and through 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. Harvette  |  July 28, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Sorry, all that beer and all I can think is Stella in cans! I want that!! hehe.

    Reply
  • 10. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  July 28, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    I was never a beer girl, but then I went into engineering where it’s basically a crime not to drink beer. Thus I learned to like it, and now it’s one of my favourites 🙂 It’s funny because I also never used to like wine, but now I rarely drink anything other than beer or wine (although I rarely drink, anyway).

    Reply
    • 11. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 28, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      I keep trying beer, convinced there is one out there that I will like. So far, I haven’t had much luck! But I will keep sipping away…:)

      My favourite “drink” is rye and ginger. Delicious!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


