The 500 Level

July 27, 2010 at 8:30 am 6 comments

Before I start talking about last night, I must do a round up of yesterday’s food!

For an afternoon snack, I had a “Dulce de leche” lunabar.  It was excellent!  It was pretty much like eating a candy bar, thus, I loved it.

This bar is

I was excited to go out for dinner last night before the game, but not as excited when I found out we were going to a sports bar.  Thankfully, sports bar have come a long way since the “cheeseburgers and chicken wings only” days, and I just about fell over when I saw Mac and Cheese on the menu.  Of course, it also came with bacon, but they could make it without.  Score!

I had a slice of bruschetta as an appetizer:

The Mac and Cheese was made with cheddar and goat cheese and topped with some parmesan.  It was very tasty, although a bit overly “peppered” and I’m not sure it was worth $13.99.  Plus the arugula salad was really a spinach salad!  You know my feelings about spinach, but when I am told arugula, I want arugula!

This meal reminded me that it is fun to eat out, but it is even more fun to make your own food (using less pepper and arugula!)  and do it up right.  AND not spend $13.99.

Our dining companions were very happy with what they ordered.  Check out the size of that fish!

We made our way over to the Roger’s Centre, but first I did a little impromptu photo shoot with husband:

I like his pose.  Very “Shirley Temple”.

And yet another picture of the CN Tower to add to my growing album of shots that look exactly the same:

Ominous!

I don’t have any more pictures from this evening.   Not a single one inside of the stadium!  It was a good game and I am pretty sure the Jays won (although I left before the game was over!).  We sat in the cheap seats on the 500 level ($11!) and, at one point, I could smell cigarette smoke.  I am really sensitive to cigarette smoke because it is DISGUSTING, but even more so now that I am pregnant.  I turned around and some guy was happily puffing away, even though there is no smoking in the stadium.  I am usually a mild, quiet-mannered person, but I went a bit crazy on this person (as did husband), and demanded he butt it out.  He did.  I felt triumphant.  It’s one thing to smoke around me, but another to smoke around my baby!

Now I know what they mean about protective mothers.

I made it home by 10:30 pm, snacked on some almond cake, and was in bed by 11:00 pm.  I woke up groggy, though, and could only concoct a plain bowl of Kashi Go Lean with a sliced banana, some plain non-fat yogurt, and a spoonful of peanut butter.

Now I am going to try to get some work done.  Wish me luck with that one!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

FAIL I remembered!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison  |  July 27, 2010 at 9:40 am

    1. Dulce de Leche luna used to be my favorite (before I discovered Choco Peppermint!)
    2. I love that picture of the CN Tower! The cloud is a nice contrast.
    3. I love how TSM is such a good sport about your photo shoots.
    4. Good for you for getting the smoker to stop! At least there is no smoking in the stadium (and more public places I can assume). You know how insane I am about cigarette smoke especially when I was pregnant.!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 27, 2010 at 10:31 am

      Husband is a very good sport about the photo shoots! He has rarely checked out my blog, but doesn’t seem to mind that I post all these wacky pictures of him for public consumption.

      I felt like something overtook me when I realized that man was smoking behind me. It was like a burst of anger just shot through me! A very foreign sensation, but I liked it! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Mel  |  July 27, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Glad to hear you confronted the smoker. Smoking is so gross and it makes me mad when people do it around me too… especially in places where it is actually against the law!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 27, 2010 at 11:51 am

      Totally! At the Roger’s Centre, you are so confined in your seat that you can’t even move away from the smell. I just thought it was so selfish of the guy to be so inconsiderate!

      Reply
  • 5. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  July 27, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    What is it with Toronto restaurants where they think they can pass off spinach as arugula? Do they think we won’t know? Next time I might just throw my salad at the waiter 😉

    And I’m glad you told the smoker off! I think it’s really rude to smoke like that in a non-smoking zone, especially if he was clearly sitting right behind a pregnant woman :\

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 27, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      I remember your spinach/arugula mix-up! This behavior must be stopped! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


