Meet Brutus

July 27, 2010 at 8:31 pm 10 comments

I have a fun post for you this evening!  A little bit of this with a little bit of that and a puppy and pregnant woman thrown in for good measure!

Meet Brutus:

I have never met this dog, but a friend is puppy-sitting him and sent me pictures.  Look at that face!  I deemed it “blog-worthy”.

This afternoon, I decided to splurge and buy myself a coffee!  I got half decaf/half bold from Starbs because I wanted the caffeinated boost without giving my little guy too much of a jolt!  See, already I am an excellent, self-less mom 😉

Starbucks is my favourite coffee ever, but its caffeine content is outrageous.  If you read Tina’s blog, you can see what I mean!  I am happy to do the half decaf/half regular combo.

In the elevator on my way back to work, I caught a glimpse of my visage and was shocked to see the gigantic Santa belly staring back at me.  I mean, I know my belly is big.  It’s got a 2 pound baby all up in there.  But today it just seems extra-big.  I had to take a picture for posterity!

I took this photo in my work washroom.  Classy!

I was walking down the hall at work and a coworker who doesn’t usually work in this office made a comment to another coworker and said, “Gosh, Robyn is getting really fat, eh?”.  It made me die laughing.  I had to be resuscitated just to write this entry (?) 😉

The growing belly will never cease to fascinate me.  We spend our whole, adult, female lives trying to make it smaller, flatter, firmer etc., so to have these precious nine months in which I get to proudly stick it out, and flaunt my rotund self is a real breath of fresh air.  As well, when I look at my 6 week pregnancy photo, I stare at my stomach and reminisce about how flat it was.  Ahhhhh, you don’t know how good you’ve got it until it’s gone…or expanded!

Who is this skinny woman?

Anyway, after the delectable cup of coffee, I had a peach (unpictured) and a Dark Mocha Almond granola bar!

Husband and friends spent the day at the zoo (lucky!) and would be arriving home a couple of hours after I did, so I knew dinner would be late (for me, anything after 6:00 pm is late!).   I knew I had to satiate myself the best way I know how:  A Green Monster!

This puppy contains:

  • 1 cup 1% milk
  • 1 sliced banana
  • Spinach
  • The last of the “california” fruit mix, which ended up being predominantly strawberries

It really kept me full as I shucked corn and prepared a make-shift pasta salad.

I really didn’t know how this salad was going to turn out, but I think it turned out pretty good!  I just boiled a cup of macaroni, added a can of drained, rinsed black beans, some cubed mozzarella, and added as many fresh vegetables as I had which included spinach, broccoli, mushrooms, orange pepper, tomato, and zucchini.  For a dressing, I used the recipe I use when I make my Greek Pasta Salad.  Not bad for winging it!

The others had steak, but I stuck to my tried-and-true veggie burger.  Since I was also having corn and the macaroni, I opted out of the bun and just spread some honey barbecue sauce on top.  We ate out in the backyard and it made me think I should really eat every dinner out there (instead of in front of the TV where I may or may not consume most of my meals *ahem*).

And two sweet pickles to complete the meal.

I was pretty excited about what they brought home for dessert:

With chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream!

I KNOW.

Perfection much?

Now I am digesting this load of sugar and watching TV.  We are just hanging low tonight and I hope to make it somewhat early to bed.  We shall see!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

I remembered! Beer

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. land animal  |  July 27, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Still a gorgeous pregnant lady! Love your little beach-ball baby bump 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 28, 2010 at 8:19 am

      Thank you! This is music to a pregnant lady’s ears 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  July 28, 2010 at 12:21 am

    cutest puppy ever! puppy also has a nicely decorated home… i really like that wall colour.

    ps. cute preggo belly too! i can’t say “cutest” because then all our other preggo friends would be mad at me for picking favourites… 😛

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 28, 2010 at 8:19 am

      I hadn’t noticed the wall colour before, but you’re right! Tres chic.

      You can write me an email and tell me I have the cutest preggo belly ever? I promise I won’t tell the others 😉

      Reply
  • 5. Stacey @ Tipping the (Kitchen!) Scales  |  July 28, 2010 at 2:56 am

    You look so cute pregnant – it really suits you. That dessert looks divine!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 28, 2010 at 8:20 am

      I am definitely loving pregnancy, and not just because I get to eat more! hehe 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Erika  |  July 28, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Brutus is the cutest ever! As are you, I cant believe someone said youre fat. You have a baby in your belly, and look awesome!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 28, 2010 at 12:17 pm

      My coworker was just joking about me being fat! I thought it was very funny 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  July 28, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    So…I just started watching Degrassi last night and was so taken with them calling the bathroom a “washroom.”And then I read this post and get to see it again! I’ve never been to Canada so I had no idea that was the terminology. It is my New Favorite Thing. (My second favorite thing? That the locker room is the “change room.” It’s the little things in life.)

    P.S. Degrassi is totally addictive. I watched the entire first disc (8 episodes!) last night. I couldn’t stop.

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 28, 2010 at 7:26 pm

      I never knew “washroom” was a Canadian thing! Same with “change room”. Older Canadians are even more hardcore and say “Chesterfield” instead of couch and “serviette” instead of napkin. That’s British colonialism for ya!

      I haven’t watched the new Degrassi but I am very well acquainted with the 80s version.

      T minus 34 minutes until Big Brother!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


