I remembered!

July 27, 2010 at 12:10 pm 9 comments

To take a picture of my lunch today, that is.  Aren’t you proud of me?

Sarah will be happy to know that I had baby carrots for a snack this morning 😉  Because I was feeling lazy after my late night (11:00 pm, wowsas!), I just grabbed the rest of the bag.  There were a lot of carrots in there!  I’m waiting for my skin to turn a light shade of orange.

For lunch, I had a salad.  Looks a lot like my salads from Sunday and yesterday, doesn’t it?  That is because I am a Time-Saving Super Genius and made all three salads at once!  Why I don’t do this more often is beyond me.  Since I eat a salad every day during the week, I could make 2 or 3 at a time and save myself a bit of time.  It’s just a matter of having enough space in my fridge as well as enough tupperware.  I think I am onto something here.

It’s official:  I love green beans in salad.  I’m not the only one!  These just tasted so fresh.   I also love corn mixed with the balsamic vinaigrette and feta.  Yum!

This also contains:

  • Baby spinach
  • Tomato
  • Broccoli
  • Mushroom
  • 1/2 sliced avocado
  • Red pepper

And I had two squares of Lindt milk chocolate.  I have greatly enjoyed having milk chocolate in my possession, but I’ve got to tell you:  It just doesn’t satisfy me like dark chocolate does.  It must be the cocoa content.  Two squares of dark and I feel perfectly satiated.  Two squares of milk and I am ready for the next two squares of milk (which happened yesterday.  Shhhh!!  Don’t tell).  Lesson learned:  Buy dark.

I am not sure what is on the agenda for dinner.  Our Korean guests are either at the zoo or Hockey Hall of Fame today, but we will probably come back to our place for dinner, either for a barbecue or homemade curry (not made by me, hurrah!).

Since it is Tuesday, I am already beginning to think about the weekend (honestly, this is the first thing I think about on Monday morning too).  Do you have any plans for this upcoming Civic Holiday weekend?  Do Americans even get a Civic Holiday weekend? It is a great holiday because it is a holiday just for the sake of having a holiday.  No one famous died, no historical event happened, no religion anointed this day as such-and-such.  Just the good government of Ontario decided to cut us some slack and give us a day off in the middle of the summer.

And that?  Is why I love democracy (and Ontario!).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

The 500 Level Meet Brutus

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  July 27, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    I’m throwing my friend a 30th birthday party on Saturday with her family and a couple of friends and then the rest of the weekend will be a mixture of finishing up my school paper and doing absolutely NOTHING! I’m terribly excited about it! 😀

    I also find that dark chocolate fills me up better than milk. Good thing to! That’s why I always eat far more milk chocolate!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 27, 2010 at 12:33 pm

      Those sound like the perfect weekend plans! A bit of socialization and fun, a bit of productivity, and a lot of relaxation! A trifecta of awesomeness 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Amanda C  |  July 27, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    I’m going to do laundry and pack for New Brunswick, since we leave Friday as soon as I finish work. I think Ethel and I might have a crafternoon too! It’s awesome, we don’t have the civic holiday here in Qc since we have St-Jean-Baptiste day in June, but my workplace gives it to us anyways! It’s time like this that I’m particularly happy to be working in the public sector.

    I too have been trying to come up with a method of salad making that saves time. I’ve started chopping up different ingredients and storing those, so I can throw together whatever strikes my fancy a bit more easily. I also finally purchased a bottle of dressing to leave in the work fridge, so I don’t have to bother with putting dressing in a wee tupperware everyday.

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 27, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      Why are you going to New Brunswick? I love it there. Lots of trees!

      Dressing in the work fridge makes life so much easier, and one less piece of tupperware to wash!

      Reply
  • 5. anne7x7  |  July 27, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    I TOTALLY agree on the dark chocolate. I think the sugar content of milk just keeps you wanting more… and more… and more…

    My little sister (who happens to be 5’10 tall) is coming to visit for a week, so I’m sure there will lots of shopping and girl talk this weekend! I am also running my first 10K on Saturday! Woot Woot!

    Thank you, Province of Ontario!

    PS: Love your blogs, as always! 😉

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 27, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      Whoa, your first 10K?! That is awesome! Good luck!

      Thanks for the blog encouragement. I feel like a bit of a slacker lately, but I am motivated to stay on track! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Harvette  |  July 27, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    No Civic Holiday in america! the only holidays we get are to celebrate death or life – no holidays just for the sake of having a day off hehe.

    Also, I loooove feta with balsamic, or even just plain goat cheese with balsamic (who am I kidding, is there ANY cheese that doesn’t taste good with balsamic dressing?!).

    Reply
  • 8. Sarah  |  July 27, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    WOO HOO BABY CARROTS! 😛

    Reply
    • 9. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 27, 2010 at 8:15 pm

      But now I’m all out. C’est tragique! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


