Day 68

July 26, 2010 at 8:36 am 6 comments

Good morning!

This is my 68th day left of work, not that I am counting!  Actually, I am feeling very chill right now, which is an odd sensation to have first thing Monday morning.  I credit the green tea!  And the fact that I am going to a baseball game tonight!  Lately, I have been thinking that I need to get out more.  I am such a homebody, but I need to remember that the little guy currently residing in my uterus is going to make me even more housebound, especially this winter.  Friends have encouraged me to get out more, and that is what I shall do!  We have a couple of friends who live in Korea staying with us for the next few days, which should keep things interesting.  And, tonight, we are going to see a Jays game!  I foresee some vegetarian street meat in my immediate future.  Because of that, I knew I needed a Green Monster for breakfast.  Get those fruits and veggies in while I can!

The classic GM combination of:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup of 1% milk
  • 1/2 cup frozen mixed fruit
  • Lots of spinach

As well as a whole wheat bagel toasted with cream cheese.

I would now usually post my “Monday Rundown”, but I have recently switched my spreadsheet from Excel to Google Documents and now I am having trouble copying-and-pasting it into the blog!  So I will give you an abbreviated run down of what I spent last week!

1.  Blueberries, spinach, chocolate bar – Antioxidants much?

2.  Lunch for me, Husband, and his two coworkers – I was feeling generous!  Take a picture, it doesn’t happen often 🙂

3.  Contact lenses – I order them online so it costs about half of what it would cost at my ophthalmologist’s.   That is a really difficult word to spell!

4.  Groceries – Usually husband pays for groceries, but I forgot his credit card on Saturday morning.  Luckily, I reduced the bill by 30%!  Usually we spend about $100 per week, but this week it was only $70.  Booyeah!

I definitely spent more than my budgeted $90 per week, but I have more than enough in the reservoirs.  The contact lenses will be reimbursed by my health plan which is nice!  I also want to buy some prescription glasses in the next couple of weeks.  My last pair were black thick rims, but I am thinking of going rimless this time around.  Thoughts?  Opinions?

Time to work hard on this Day 68!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Another Sunday FAIL

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Harvette  |  July 26, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    I think you could totally rock a pair of rimless frames!

    oh and in the name of all things frugal, check out this site prior to buying any glasses: http://glassyeyes.blogspot.com/

    All my glasses are SO cheap now, hardly a real expese at all. 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  July 26, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    sorry i have no opinion on glasses….i’ve never had to wear them 😦
    but it might be cool to get some with lenses that automatically turn dark in the sun. my dad has those. instant sunglasses 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 27, 2010 at 8:13 am

      A couple of pairs of glasses ago, I had those transitions! They were convenient, but sometimes when I didn’t want to be wearing sunglasses, they were still dark from the sun! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Therese  |  July 26, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Hey! I’m thinking a wee blogger meet up for dinner should be in order next month. Ya wanna do dinner?!

    As for glasses, I’m really a visual person (heh…), I’d probably have to see them on you but I do think a thinner frame would look good on you!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 27, 2010 at 8:14 am

      Dinner sounds great! Email me at frugalnfit@gmail.com if that’s easier for organizational purposes 🙂

      I have usually had thicker, darker frames, but I love the look of rimless frames. Might as well give it a shot, right?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


