Friends with dessert

July 22, 2010 at 7:20 pm 4 comments

TGIAF!

So my attempt to treat myself right with an afternoon snack was partially foiled by the fact I was busy at work.  There was a broken photocopier and a supervisor who needed this, that, and the other, and before I knew it, it was 3:00 pm.  I had a peach (unphotographed, because I am on strike against photographing peaches!) but knew I needed something sweet.  Luckily I work in midtown Toronto where a 5 minute walk brings you to three grocery stores, five drug stores, and 74 Starbucks (haha.  I wish!).  I am always close to my greatest friend and lover, Lindt chocolate.

Today’s splurge was buying Milk not Dark chocolate!  I mostly prefer dark now, but having some creamy, milky chocolate always ranks high in my list of “Things I really, really like”.  Other items on this list include cats, almond butter, and expandable pants.

I had two squares, even though a third and fourth were calling my name.  I ignored its tempting sound!

Dinner tonight was what I planned for last night:  A Frittata and mashed sweet potatoes.  I was starving so I had an hors d’oeuvres of a Green Monster.

The boring but delicious combo of:

  • 1 sliced frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango
  • 1 cup of 1% milk
  • Large handful of spinach

I am now out of spinach and must figure out a salad-free lunch for tomorrow.  Shocking!

Dinner turned out well, although not as photogenic as I would like.

Like, what IS that?

I promise this tasted about 40 times better than it looks.  I just peeled, chopped, and boiled two sweet potatoes for 15 minutes, drained them, and then mashed them with brown sugar and cinnamon.  I did all of this while texting to a friend.  I am an amazing 21st century superwoman!

Except my frittata-removal skills are lacking.  That first slice always ends up looking a bit, um, messy.  I was aiming for a perfect wedge and ended up with a pile of eggs and veggies.  Oh well!  Presentation isn’t everything.

The friend-who-is-so-often-mentioned-on-this-blog-he-should-have-his-own-nickname is coming over and bringing dessert!  I am going to lure him into the scintillating world of Big Brother.

Mooohahahahahaha.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

It’s a rough life Treatzza Pizza

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  July 23, 2010 at 7:40 am

    no matter how sweet potatoes look, they can do no wrong in the taste department! 🙂
    if you’re not against microwaves, you could peel and then nuke them for about 5-6 minutes for even quicker instant gratification 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  July 23, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Lindt’s on sale at Shoppers this week! 2 for $5!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


