Morning Glory Muffins

July 21, 2010 at 7:50 pm 7 comments

Quinoa for breakfast and muffins for dinner.  I’m doing everything backwards!  But before we get to that…

For a snack this afternoon, I had an unpictured peach (am sick of taking pictures of peaches!) and a Key Lime flavoured Larabar.

Tastes like Key West.

Note:  I have never been to Key West, nor do I know what, if anything, it tastes like.

My intention was to make a frittata and mashed sweet potatoes for dinner, but hubby had to be out the door by 5:30 pm in order to see Inception for the second time (He has a degree in Film; this is just par for the course).  I scrapped that idea and declared that every (wo)man would just fend for him or herself.  For him, this meant a tuna sandwich.  For me, this meant a can of soup and some crackers.  Fancy!

This soup is more expensive than my Primo-brand Lentil, but look at that name:  Rustic Spiced Lentil and Vegetable.  Sounds like you should be eating it in a log cabin after a day spent hiking in the Adirondacks (?).

The nutritional stats are also appealing:

I ate the whole can, because that is what I do.  Not bad for 260 calories.

I had it with a side of whole wheat Wheat Thins.

Because I am a bachelorette tonight, I decided to partake in my favourite solitary activities.  That is, to read, bake and drink coffee!

I began by reading, and finishing up, The Complete Tightwad Gazette.  Loved it!  I am going to ask for a copy from Santa.

Then I decided to do some baking.  I didn’t feel like making a dessert, but rather something with more substance.  I wanted something hearty and satisfying.  I decided to make muffins, but there are so many different kinds!  I eyed the can of pumpkin sitting on my pantry shelf, but as much as I love pumpkin baked goods (and I do!  Just watch in September and October!), I wasn’t feeling it.  I opted for my second favourite type of muffin:  Morning Glory!

Morning Glory are the best because they contain so many add-ins.  Carrot, raisins, apple, pineapple, nuts, seeds…the list can go on and on.  It’s one of those flavours that kids hate but adults love.  You know you have matured when you choose a Morning Glory muffin over a Chocolate Chip!  At least this is my theory.  I have many theories involving food likes and dislikes.  Stay tuned for those.

Here is my recipe for Morning Glory Muffins:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (sub half whole wheat if you’re feeling, uh, healthy!)
  • 1 tsp each baking powder and cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt
  • 3 Tbsp oil
  • 1 cup grated carrots
  • 1/2 cup canned pineapple chunks (with juice)
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds or nuts
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut

1.  Grease or line 6 muffin cups with paper liners

2.  In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and baking soda.  In a small bowl, whisk together egg, sugar, yogurt, and oil.  Pour wet mixture onto dry mixture but don’t stir yet, even though it will be hard not to!

3.  Add the remaining ingredients and THEN stir.  You want to mix them only until everything is blended.  It is important not to over-mix muffin batter!

4.  Spoon the batter into muffin cups and bake in a 350F oven for 20-25 minutes, or until they are firm to the touch.  Let cool in pan for five minutes before removing.

Best served with a cup of freshly brewed coffee and a sleeping cat.

They are very tasty!  Check out the interior:

Now that’s a muffin

I may or may not have had a second.  There is no photographic evidence, so you will never know! 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Not Carrots Muffin and Coffee

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  July 21, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    THAT looks great!! Using gluten free flour and flax instead of eggs I could totally make those. What’s great @ gf flour is you can’t overstir it-it’s gluten that makes regular flour gummy when overstirred 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 22, 2010 at 8:13 am

      I didn’t know that about gf flour! I’d like to try baking more with flours other than the usual all-purpose…

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  July 21, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    so i guess inception is good? 🙂 i think i’m gonna try and see that next week on cheap night – which nicely fits into the frugal theme of this blog,eh? in keeping with the fit part, i will not mention then that i didn’t workout today, and i also won’t mention that i had ice cream at work and MCCAINS DEEP AND DELICIOUS cake at my mom’s tonight. 😛 and maybe, just maybe some dark chocolate as well….

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 22, 2010 at 8:14 am

      I want to see Inception, but I am waiting for DVD (frugal!!!).

      Ice cream and cake are part of a complete and healthy diet. Did you see my Coldstone ice cream score from last night Friday? YUM.

      Reply
  • 5. Sarah  |  July 21, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    ps LOVE all the cats pics! more cat pics! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. A KIND Coffee Break « h/e  |  July 23, 2010 at 9:59 am

    […] foods. That said, I’ve been craving the fab coffee+muffin combo since Robyn posted about her incredible morning glory muffins a few days […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


