Breakfast Quinoa

July 21, 2010 at 8:23 am 4 comments

My friend Janet shared with me this recipe for Breakfast Quinoa and I knew I had to try it soon!  The only problem is that it takes about 15 minutes to cook on the stove, making it less-than-ideal for weekday mornings.  Lately, weekend mornings have been too busy, or the ol’ ball-and-chain has requested pancakes or egg burritos.  Today, aforementioned ball-and-chain could drive me to the subway, so I had an extra 25 minutes to play with.  Of course, I opted to play with quinoa!

Breakfast Quinoa

Serves two

  • 2 cups of milk
  • 1 cup of quinoa
  • Cinnamon
  • Brown sugar
  • Blueberries

As you can tell, I am very exact about measurements 🙂

1.  Heat up milk in a saucepan until it boils.  Make sure to stir often so it doesn’t scald.

2.  Add the quinoa, reduce heat to low, cover, and stir occasionally for 15 minutes or until the quinoa has absorbed most of the milk.

3.  When you have about 1 minute left, add a few sprinkles of cinnamon and a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar.  Stir to mix.

4.  Pour into two bowls and top with blueberries and another sprinkle of cinnamon.  Since I was low on blueberries, I also added half a sliced banana to each bowl.

The consistency reminded me of Cream of Wheat (made with milk of course!)

It looks like tapioca pudding!

I really, really liked this hot breakfast.  It was very comforting and satisfying and would be a good one to make on a cold January morning (or a hot July day — you’re pick!).  I will definitely keep this one in the record books.

Thanks Janet!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Tink Mug Not Carrots

4 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


