Tink Mug

July 20, 2010 at 6:54 pm 6 comments

I am trying to write this with a Bootsy tail under my left wrist.  It is difficult, but nothing can stop me from blogging!!!

For some afternoon snacks today, I had a peach and a Nature Valley “oats ‘n’ honey” bar.  I have always enjoyed these bars.  They are higher in calories than most granola bars, but you get TWO.  Something about getting TWO always made them that much more tastier 😉

Except they are messy to eat and leave crumbs all over my keyboard

Day 2 of Advanced Dinner Planning meant that we were having vegetarian pizza for supper!  The last time I made pizza, I made enough dough for two and froze the other half.  I defrosted the dough over night in the fridge so it was all ready for me to roll out as soon as I got home from work.  A friend of my hubby’s, who is so frequently mentioned on this blog that perhaps he should have his own nickname?, lent us his pizza stone.  I have never used a pizza stone but have only heard good things.

The pizza turned out great!  I am always antsy when slicing a homemade pizza, afraid that the dough will get stuck to the pan or be too floppy, but this was easy to slice and nicely crisp.

This is just a whole wheat pizza crust topped with tomato sauce, sliced summer squash, broccoli, mushroom, red pepper, grated part-skim mozzarella, and a bit of dried oregano and basil.

Afraid that half of a pizza wouldn’t be filling enough – yes, half a pizza ISN’T enough for me – I also made us Green Monsters.  I have said it before and I will say it many times again:  frozen mango just MAKES the Green Monster!

For two:

  • 2 cups of 1% milk
  • 2 sliced frozen bananas
  • 1 cup of sliced frozen mango
  • Large handful of spinach

This was almost like soft serve ice cream at first.  I know that banana soft serve is majorly popular right now, but I would like to first try it by mixing in frozen mango as well.  Add a touch of coconut milk and I think we’d be really onto something!  Hmmm…

For “dessert”, I am having a cup of coffee and will likely have a brownie and/or some chocolate.

This is my Tinkerbell mug that my parents bought me in Orlando this year!

I usually prefer mugs made out of pottery, but this one spoke to me…

When they first gave me this, I was experiencing first trimester nausea and couldn’t bear to even look at a cup of coffee.  For a while, I associated this mug with nausea and couldn’t use it!  I am glad that time of my life has passed.

Wow, that was a random tidbit of useless information!

Here is something that is anything but useless…

COTTAGE CHEESE?!!!?!!!?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Carrots + Salad: The Continuing Saga Breakfast Quinoa

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thoughtsappear  |  July 20, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Love your mug and your cat pic!

    Reply
  • 3. land animal  |  July 20, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    1. You always seem to post the yummiest looking green monsters. Is it your photog skills or your green monster making skills? Hahah
    2. I want that mug. Too cute!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 21, 2010 at 8:14 am

      I am going to say it’s the GM-making skills. Ever since I discovered the frozen mango/frozen banana combo, there has been no stopping me!

      The mug is also the perfect size for a LOT of coffee 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Erika  |  July 21, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Boots and Margot are the cutest!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 21, 2010 at 3:36 pm

      You and husband’s mom are the only two people who call her Margot! So cute 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


