Cottage cheese tip

July 20, 2010 at 8:13 am 6 comments

Good morning!

Last night, I went to bed hungry.  I don’t usually let this happen, but I really didn’t want to take any more pictures of food.  You know you are lazy when you’d rather be hungry than break out the camera, y’know?  So I woke up starving and ready for breakfast!

I have a large tub of cottage cheese in my fridge right now, and I’ve been neglecting it.  It expires in five days.  A great tip I learned from – you guessed it – The Complete Tightwad Gazette is to store your cottage cheese container upside down in the fridge.  Sounds wacky, I know, but apparently, by doing this, you extend the life of your cottage cheese by weeks, if not months!  The example in the book said the person’s cottage cheese lasted a full 4.5 months beyond its expiration date!  I don’t think you will be finding me eating four month old cottage cheese anytime soon, but I like the idea of being able to extend the life an extra week or two.  This way, when it’s on sale, you can stock up without worrying about having cottage cheese for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Although that does sound like an exciting food blogging challenge 🙂

I had some 2% cottage cheese with about 7 sliced strawberries…

Along with a toasted whole wheat bagel with a bit of margarine.

I should have taken a picture of Bootsy.  He is not one to beg for food (or at least my food.  When hubby has cooked a steak on the BBQ, the little guy goes nuts!  Luckily, he has a generous father).  But he also LOVES cottage cheese.  He just sits really close by me while I eat it and waits until his opportunity to lick the bowl clean.  I let him, because I am a Cat Person, and that is what Cat People do.  I hope this doesn’t gross you out too much, but it is what it is 🙂

I hope you have a great morning!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Brought to you by food blogs Carrots + Salad: The Continuing Saga

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tanyasdaily  |  July 20, 2010 at 10:40 am

    I like cottage chesse, esp the low fat with No salt.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 20, 2010 at 11:46 am

      I haven’t found the “no salt” kind here but I am interested in trying it. The only problem with cottage cheese is all that sodium!

      Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  July 20, 2010 at 11:17 am

    My Aunt would feed her cat cream cheese from a spoon every single night! Heh

    Love cottage cheese and that’s an awesome tip! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 20, 2010 at 11:47 am

      Your Aunt’s cat was probably the happiest cat in the world!

      Reply
  • 5. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  July 20, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    I can totally picture Bootsy sitting there, patiently waiting for his bowl. Ha. I had a cat who would sit uncomfortably close to my mouth whenever I was eating ice cream. He was totally a close-meower. (GROAN. Sorry.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


