Like it, love it, gotta have it

July 16, 2010 at 8:12 pm 16 comments

I just ate some coffee lover’s ice cream and now my kid is going crazy in my belly!  That will teach me to give Beansy both sugar and caffeine in one go.  But I am getting ahead of myself…

TGIF!  Did I mention that?  I had a really productive, positive day at work which is exactly what I needed.  One day down, 70 more to go.  Although, on second count, more like 73 days to go since I will be working some weekends.  Oy with the poodles already!  <– If you get this reference, you get a gold star!

For a snack today, I broke out this apricot-flavoured Clif bar I bought in the States.  I have never seen this flavour available in Canada which is a shame, because I loved it.  I am a huge apricot fan.

Although after eating one, I have never rock-climbed

We wanted to go grocery shopping tonight, so we made a quick dinner of spaghetti.  Just whole wheat spaghettini with marinara sauce cooked with zucchini, green pepper, and mushrooms.  Topped with some parmesan cheese, of course!

I tried to constrain myself because a new Cold Stone Creamery opened up about a five minute drive from us.  With Dairy Queen within walking distance, and now Cold Stone Creamery so close, I don’t know how my pants are going to fit at the end of the summer.  Thankfully, they are maternity pants so chances are good that they still will 😉

I went for a “like it” size of the coffee lover’s ice cream made with coffee ice cream, caramel, roasted almonds, and heath bar.  YUM.

I need to make a bean salad and hummus either tonight or tomorrow morning for some social gatherings this weekend.  First, I will lounge on the couch and watch Wife Swap!

Ahhhhhhhhhhh Friday nights.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

And you thought yesterday’s was short… Eggel

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  July 16, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    I love you, Lorelai Gilmore. (You know what still bugs me about that show, though? Those ladies never ate anything but junk and coffee and they were beautiful and slim. I look at a cheeseburger and gain a pound. TV, quit making me hate myself!)

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 17, 2010 at 8:28 am

      I have the same beef! Remember the episode where they rent a movie and buy $40 worth of junk food? That made me so mad. I know Stars Hollow is a magical place, but maintaining the circumference of Lorelai’s thighs would require some extreme diligence, no matter how magical a place she may live!

      Reply
  • 3. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  July 16, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    The size names confused my at Cold Stone Creamery – I ordered a “small” and the girl looked at me like I had two heads. Your ice cream looks delicious, though! I think everyone is extremely jealous that you get maternity pants 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 17, 2010 at 8:29 am

      It’s like Starbucks that way, eh? What is up with these places creating their own sizes? Not to mention that the small – a “like it” serving – is huge! What is this world coming to? 😉

      Reply
      • 5. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  July 18, 2010 at 7:23 pm

        I always order a kid size. That small is ginormous.

      • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 19, 2010 at 8:22 am

        next time, i will definitely get the kid size. this one was just a bit too much!

  • 7. rachel  |  July 17, 2010 at 4:58 am

    Gah your ice cream looks yummy!!

    Reply
  • 9. Heather  |  July 17, 2010 at 8:20 am

    Ooh-i made some chocolate coffee coconut milk soft serve yeterday 🙂
    I really should get an ice cream maker-cuz itbwould make it so much easier and probably better!
    I’ve never been to cold stone….but that’s probably better since it would just be torturous-because I’m lactose intolerant 😦

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 17, 2010 at 8:31 am

      I would absolutely love to hear your recipe for chocolate coffee coconut milk soft serve! That is, if you are willing to share 😉

      The Cold Stone gave me a tummy ache… why does such pleasure cause such pain?!!?

      Reply
      • 11. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  July 19, 2010 at 7:26 am

        ha-no recipe really, just kinda throw things in the blender until it’s the right consistency 🙂
        into blender:
        – frozen banana
        -coconut milk (i use the very high fat kind)
        -frozen coffee cubes (just take the leftover coffee and freeze in ice cube trays)
        -sweetener of choice
        VOILA!
        -you could also freeze the coconut milk in ice cube trays, like the coffee
        super easy and cold!! 🙂

      • 12. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 19, 2010 at 8:23 am

        Yum! Thanks!

  • 13. Stacey @ Tipping the (Kitchen!) Scales  |  July 17, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Ooh, I don’t like coffee but the ice cream looks to die for. Love ice cream!!

    Reply
    • 14. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 18, 2010 at 6:32 pm

      It is incredibly rich ice cream too. *Swoon*

      Reply
  • 15. Lauren  |  July 18, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    We have a Cold Stone Creamery in Brantford, too, and I got the same exact flavor when we went! Coffee + ice cream = amazing. And the fact that almonds and a skor bar were in that mix made it even better. My fiance (Paul) got the apple pie flavor…he made the mistake of ordering a large and only was able to finish half of it! The ice cream is soooo rich…and so good!

    Reply
    • 16. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 19, 2010 at 8:23 am

      i can’t even imagine how much ice cream is in a large! it’s so rich, too, so it’s not like eating the same size of Chapman’s ice cream etc. i saw they had a “key lime pie” concoction, so i may have to go back sooner rather than later…:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


