Roll!

July 14, 2010 at 7:29 pm 4 comments

My game plan for watching Big Brother tonight (because it needs a game plan!) is to PVR it and start watching it when it’s a half hour through.  This way, Husband can watch his trailerama show at 8:00 pm (Yes, a whole show of movie trailers) and then at 8:30 pm we can watch Big Brother!  Marital bliss, one PVR at a time.

Earlier this afternoon, I tried a new bar.  It is always a good day when a new bar is tried.

Roll!

I have never seen these before, but picked up a box of four at Target.  I was intrigued because they are made by Kashi, looked like a decadent chocolate bar from the picture, and have lots of protein and fibre.  SOLD.

This was a very intense eating experience.  On the one hand, it felt like a decadent chocolate bar like I suspected!  On the other hand, it did have that faint cardboard-y texture so popular with health bars nowadays.

More decadent than cardboard-y though

I give this bar two thumbs up.

I also ate a peach.  What else is new?

When I got home from work, I wasn’t particularly hungry, but I did remember that we had an opened bag of Food Should Taste Good Cheddar crackers/tortilla chips.  I was particularly motivated to eat some 😉

These are pretty freaking delicious.  They are healthy (for chips) and very tasty.  The only problem is that they cost a fortune.  You can’t win!

I am motivated to clear out my freezer, so I needed to use up a Tenderflake pastry shell that’s been living in there for months.  I thought about making a pie, but instead got a dinner out of it by making quiche.  I just wing my recipe.  It isn’t the healthiest, but it’s tasty and cheap!  I baked the shell first in a 300 F oven for 5-10 minutes.  Then I placed half a sliced zucchini, a few sliced mushrooms, a couple of pieces of diced red pepper, and some cubed cheddar cheese in the shell.  Then I whisked together 4 eggs and a 1/2 cup of half-and-half (my arteries just went “eek!”) and poured it over the veggies.  I baked it in the oven for 30 minutes and ta da!

I served it with steamed green beans.  And then I went back for seconds!

Since I overdid it in the cholesterol department, I decided to keep it light for dessert.  I made a fruit salad using pineapple, watermelon, strawberries, and blueberries with a cup of coffee.  Day 2 of “no coffee shop coffee” and I have already saved $3.78.  What should I do with my riches?

I had a very frugal discovery today that I would like to share with you, the frugal and the fit.  Since it’s summer, I’ve been air-drying my hair.  I spray some Sunsilk Waves of Envy Sea Mist into my wet hair and let it air dry on my way into work.  It gives me some natural waviness and frizziness is kept to a minimum.  It is a pretty sweet system.  But I am running low on my sea mist and it dawned on me that I could probably make this myself.  I am just trying to emulate the effect of salt water, so why not just use…salt water?  I have sea salt and I have water.  Most importantly, I have a plan.  I will let you know how it goes!

Now it is time to occupy myself until 8:00 8:30.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Feta = Happiness Big Brother Spoiler

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mel  |  July 14, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    So that is what quiche is made of!

    Reply
  • 3. heather  |  July 15, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    I hate to rain on your frugal parade, but you might have some issues w/ the salt water thing actually controlling frizz. I bet it will give you nice waves! I’ve used that spray stuff before (when my hair was long!) and it does have some anti-frizz polymers in it that might be hard to duplicate (this is how much of a beauty products geek I am). my suggestion though it to throw in a few drops of jojoba oil… can’t hurt!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 15, 2010 at 6:56 pm

      i never thought of anti-frizz polymers! that sounds intense. tomorrow morning is the big experiment. i will let you know how it goes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


