It is just fun to say “Oikos”

July 14, 2010 at 8:46 am 2 comments

Well my journey through the magical land of American Greek yogurt continues, as this morning for breakfast I broke out the Stonyfield Organic “Oikos” Greek yogurt!

I was immediately impressed by the creamy texture, although was suspicious that it didn’t seem thick at all.  In fact, its texture was reminiscent of regular, non-Greek yogurt, i.e. inferior yogurt!

Husband was able to drop me off at the subway this morning, meaning I was given an extra 25 minutes for my morning routine.  What does one do with an extra 25 minutes?  Some sleep in, some watch TV, but I, dear readers, make hot oatmeal!

I decided to cook 1/2 cup rolled oats in 1 cup of water (doubled the recipe to feed husband too) and serve it with the yogurt, half a sliced banana, a few sliced strawberries, and a small handful of this entirely awesome trail mix.

Delicious!

I found the flavour of the Oikos yogurt to be tasty.  The sweetness of the honey was a nice touch.  But, to be honest, I prefer my Greek yogurt to be thick.  I want it almost cheese-like.  This yogurt reminded me of any old, basic yogurt (although this contains 12 grams of protein, which is a bonus!).  I don’t think I would buy this again because it is pricey, but I would definitely eat it again if offered!

Speaking of price, I have been thinking about my budget again.  I only have 73 days left of work until my maternity leave, not that I am counting or anything ;).  That means only 8 more paycheques!   This means I want to get SERIOUS about my spending.  And, yes, this motivation is completely caused by my reading of The Complete Tightwad Gazette.  It is really making me look at my already frugal-esque lifestyle and wondering where to make some cuts!  This is what I propose:

1.  No more coffee shop coffee, unless I am out with friends or husband.  With 73 days of work left, I will save between $93.44 and $137.97 by avoiding the coffee shops alone!

2.  Our weekly grocery bill has been averaging about $100 a week.  I would like to cut this by 20%.  This means more lentils!  This means less Greek yogurt 😦

3.  Raise the temperature in our house.  We have been keeping it in the 74-76 F range, so I am going to try to stick to around 78.  This is a tough one, though, because husband prefers it cooler.  Since I am a human incubator right now, you would think I would prefer it cooler too, but my frugal desires evidently outweigh my basal body temperature.

4.  Right now, my miscellaneous spending “allowance” is about $116.50 a week (specific number much?).  I am toying with the idea of cutting this by half to $60.00.  That may be too much, though.  This weekend, I am driving to Niagara ($20 for gas), taking my mom out to lunch for her birthday with relatives ($20-25) and having a picnic on the beach with my girlfriends ($ cost unknown!).  That doesn’t leave a lot of wiggle room.  And if there is one thing I like to do, it is wiggle.

After my shopping splurge this weekend, I feel ready to make some frugal changes.  I am ready to really live up to the name of this blog!!!!

(…just one more bite of Siggi’s, please 😉 )

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

More Siggi’s for me Feta = Happiness

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  July 14, 2010 at 11:00 am

    You’ve got a serious plan going there! Awesome! I know you’ll do great and I’m sure some weeks you won’t spend as much as other weeks so maybe you can pool the leftover cash from one week to the next and then you can splurge on something?

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 14, 2010 at 12:31 pm

      Yeah, I like the idea of pooling the cash over into the next week. Hopefully it accumulates for Greek yogurt-buying purposes 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


