Feta = Happiness

July 14, 2010 at 12:46 pm 4 comments

Greek yogurt, Greek cheese — I would be lost without my Mediterranean friends!  Really, I would be lost without their food products.  Now pass me some spanakopita, will you?

For a snack today, I had some cherries.  I debated whether I should eat these fresh, or freeze them for Chocolate Cherry Bomb-making purposes.  I opted for fresh.

For lunch, I had a hodgepodge salad, as they are my specialty.  I am impressed that my spell check has approved “hodgepodge” as an actual word.  I thought it was one of those made-up words like metrosexual or Brangelina.

Do you see that giant hunk of feta?  It is taunting me.  I wish it still existed.

This salad contained a bed of baby spinach, topped with bean salad, half a sliced tomato, some sliced cucumber, some red pepper, and, most importantly, feta cheese.

For dessert, I had two squares of peppermint dark chocolate.  Very refreshing!

Today is another busy day at work.  72.5 to go, not that I am counting!  But I am actually going to take a bit of  a break during this lunch and go outside and see what there is to see.  I am guessing heat and humidity with a side of smog for good measure.

I have decided not to slash my miscellaneous spending budget from $116.50 to $60.  What am I, nuts?  Girlfriend needs her larabars.  Instead, I am going to slash it like I am trying to slash my grocery bill, by 20%.  That leaves me with about $90 a week.  I can live with that.

I was trying to think of the most expensive thing that regularly appears on my grocery bill and you know what it is?  CAT FOOD.  The things we do for our angels, eh?

Hubs agrees

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

It is just fun to say “Oikos” Roll!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenn @ So Very Fabulous  |  July 14, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    I hear you on spending a small fortune on little fur babies. I have 3 kitties and let me tell you, the cat food and litter adds up! They’re so adorable that it’s worth it though. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 14, 2010 at 7:03 pm

      Definitely. If you compare the amount of money spent on them with the amount of joy they bring, they are practically free! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. glutenfreemuse  |  July 14, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    I spend way too much on groceries, but I figure…invest in what you can completely control…YOUR HEALTH!

    ~Alyssa

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 14, 2010 at 7:03 pm

      It’s true, the investment in one’s health goes a LONG way!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


