More Siggi’s for me

July 13, 2010 at 7:27 pm 12 comments

A friend of hubby’s has been reading my blog, writing me emails, and making fun of me (all in good spirit!).  Today he sent me the following picture and caption:

“How do you eat this crap?”

My first food blog 🙂

Pretty classic, eh?  I LOL’d.

I needed that LOL-ing because work was busy!  Check out the background of snack #1: a Chocolate Peppermint Lunabar.  The bar was “yum” but the amount of work on my desk was not.

By snack #2 at exactly 3:36 pm, my desk was cleared off a bit.  Phew!

Husband is seeing a movie tonight with his brother, so I was on my own for dinner.  I decided to take the frugal route and use up something that has been living in my freezer for months now:  pierogies!  We used to eat these all the time, but husband has recently notified me that he’s not a fan.  That leaves the mission of Operation:  Get Rid of the Pierogies up to me.

I pan-seared them (sounds better than fried!) in olive oil with onions, red pepper and mushrooms and had them with steamed frozen veggie mix.  What would we do without freezers?  (Eat fresh food, I am guessing)

I had six pierogies and was going to dip them in sour cream, but only ended up using about a 1/3rd of the sour cream pictured here.  These were pretty cheesy pierogies and didn’t really need any help from its fatty, dairy friend 😉

For dessert, I broke out a Siggi’s, but not just any Siggi’s.  A Siggi’s that was partially consumed by husband this morning until he realized that he hates Siggi’s.  He says they are too bitter and thick for him.  SAY IT AIN’T SO.  First pierogies, now Siggi’s.  It’s like I don’t even know who he is anymore.

But you know what this means — more Siggi’s for me!

I had half of a blueberry-flavoured one.

Such a beautiful colour, but honestly?  Not such a fan of the blueberry.  I couldn’t really even taste blueberry.  I guess with these being all-natural, the flavouring isn’t very strong…or detectable.  I am holding out hope for the vanilla.  I love vanilla yogurt.  Don’t fail me now, my Icelandic friend.

I also had some organic teddy bear cookies!  I bought these on sale a couple of weeks ago.

19 cookies for 140 calories.  I am a fan of any serving size that lets me eat 19 cookies.

And a cup of coffee with Oprah Winfrey!

I broke out of my usual routine and didn’t buy any coffee while at work today.  I KNOW.  I am reading The Complete Tightwad Gazette and it is inspiring me to cut down on consumption like that.  Of course, I have felt this way before.  Give me three days, and I will be back to my old habits.  But as of now, no more fancy coffee!

…maybe.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Typical It is just fun to say “Oikos”

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison  |  July 13, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    2 quick points:

    1) My favo(u)rite Luna bar is the chocolate peppermint! I hope you bought those at Target, which is where I buy them (for 99 cents)
    2) Paul got the Tightwad Gazette as a shower gift from his (male) friend. I had to laugh when he opened it!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 14, 2010 at 8:19 am

      Does he love the Tightwad Gazette or what? I think I need to own it!

      Reply
  • 3. Allison  |  July 13, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Disregard my last comment, I see now that you got the Lunas at Target for 99 cents (HOORAY!).

    ps. I read your blog in reverse chronological order ;-(

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 14, 2010 at 8:19 am

      Target is THE place for all Lunabar purchases!

      Reply
  • 5. land animal  |  July 13, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    LOL. Ur hubby is hilarious. But he is right, those veggies look like they need some dipping sauce or something!

    Also that yogurt looks great. Want.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 14, 2010 at 8:20 am

      That was actually hubby’s friend. Hubby doesn’t read my blog regularly! I guess because he pretty much knows exactly everything already 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Becca  |  July 14, 2010 at 6:10 am

    Good work with the coffee! Honestly, it’s a blessing being a coffee-heretic. There’s no way I’d spend £2 on a cup of black instant, and I can’t be bothered with all that non-fat; extra-foam; flavoured syrup malarkey!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 14, 2010 at 8:22 am

      Do I dare calculate how much money I could save if I give up my coffee shop habit? That could be interesting…and eye opening!

      Reply
  • 9. Therese  |  July 14, 2010 at 7:38 am

    Seriously? He doesn’t like perogies?! Who doesn’t like perogies?!?!?!

    Great job on the coffee, even if it’s short-lived! I saved a LOT of dough when I stopped buying my coffee and then somehow, miraculously, I got off coffee almost altogether! I don’t know how it happened (’cause I was a TOTAL coffee addict) but now I have them as a treat although I’ve been having a bit more iced coffee these days.

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 14, 2010 at 8:23 am

      I know! They are so carby and cheesy and cheap and easy! Those are my four favourite food-related adjectives 😉

      I think I’m going to calculate how much moola I will save if I give up the coffee shop habit for the rest of my work tenure. Will be sure to post it, of course!

      Reply
  • 11. Sarah  |  July 14, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    nevermind commenting on the in-edibility (is that a word?) of your plain veggies (which is funny by the way…)…but you have an ALARM CLOCK on your desk at work! are your phone and computer clocks not enough? 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


