Homemade Almond Butter

July 13, 2010 at 8:44 am 12 comments

Last night, I put on the hat that is both frugal and fit and decided to try my hand at making homemade almond butter!

First, I Googled “homemade almond butter”.  How did people ever try new recipes before the advent of Google?

A few I found all basically had the same formula:  Take 1 cup of almonds, roast them in a 300 degree oven for 15 minutes, and blend them in a food processor with 1 tsp of sea salt and 1 tbsp of oil until it reaches the desired consistency.  Sounds easy, right?

After the initial pulse of the almonds and salt together, it began to come together quite nicely.  It was fun to watch it become just like store-bought almond butter.  Yes, this is how I get my jollies.

Every 15-30 seconds, I’d stop and scrape the sides.  This turned from almonds and salt into bona fide almond butter in a matter of about 5 minutes.  Not bad, eh?

The only problem was that it didn’t taste very good.

Booooooooooooooooooooo.

I blended them when they were still warm from the oven, which gave the kitchen – and the entire house – a “popcorn” smell.  Husband commented that it smelled like a movie theatre.  That is not necessarily a bad thing.  But this recipe just turned out WAY too salty.  Also, the roasted almonds seemed too roasted, if that makes any sense.  They weren’t even that dark after I roasted them!  I was pretty disappointed.  That is just par for the course when one is trying experiments to be frugal and fit!  It is a tough job, but someone has to do it.

I would like to try this recipe one more time, by using raw almonds, no salt, and 1/2 Tbsp of oil.  If that fails, I will abandon the project altogether and buy shares in Maranatha 😉

So for breakfast this morning, I had a Green Monster and a slice of toast with the homemade almond butter.

The smoothie was as tasty and refreshing as ever!

Made with:

  • 1 cup of 1% milk
  • 1 sliced, frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup peaches
  • Lots of baby spinach

At least it looks good, right?

The moral of this story is that you win some and you lose some.  But at least you get a blog topic out of the deal, right? 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

23 weeks, 2 days Typical

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenn @ So Very Fabulous  |  July 13, 2010 at 10:17 am

    It’s a shame your almond butter didn’t turn out well, hopefully your next batch comes out better! I certainly am addicted to the stuff, but have never attempted to make my own.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 13, 2010 at 11:55 am

      When I saw the recipe, I thought I had struck gold because it seemed so easy! But, as of now, I am still prepared to shell out the big bucks for the good stuff! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. echoingmetaphor  |  July 13, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Maybe you can mix in some maple syrup into your already made batch? It would sweeten it up a bit and I bet would taste delish!

    Reply
  • 5. Therese  |  July 13, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Sucks about the AB! I want to try making my own nut butters as well ’cause holy cheap Batman! I find that’s the hardest part about cooking, the experimenting, I want everything to be perfect the FIRST time!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 13, 2010 at 7:05 pm

      I know! I get so excited when I try a new recipe and then when it fails, it is pretty disheartening.

      Reply
  • 7. lola  |  July 13, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    sorry your almond butter didn’t turn out well…it does look good though!
    i have made almond butter once or twice. i roasted the almonds and blended them by themselves (no salt), adding a little bit of oil (don’t remember what kind. it was probably canola or safflower. i don’t think it really matters anyway) as needed to make it smoother. you could always add a little bit of salt to taste at the end, but i liked it without.

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 13, 2010 at 7:06 pm

      This is a great tip. The salt is really what ruined it. When has salt ever ruined anything? I guess it had to start somewhere. Next time — no salt!

      Reply
  • 9. Kathryn  |  July 13, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    I love the idea of almond butter. My blogging counterpart is highly allergic to peanuts and makes her own almond butter (it is delicious)! She has actually started using Emerald Nuts Cocoa Powdered Almonds. It gives the almond butter a deliciously chocolate flavor. Perfect when you are craving something sweet.

    We actually just started a new blog about taking our favorite chef’s recipes and making them a bit healthier. A few on our list are vegetarian and sound very promising. We would love for you to check it out and leave your feedback/suggestions!

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 14, 2010 at 8:19 am

      Ooh, I love the idea of adding cocoa to almond butter! I would if that would spruce mine up at all?

      Will have to check out blog, thanks!

      Reply
  • 11. Becca  |  July 14, 2010 at 4:59 am

    Great post! What do you think you’ll change for next time? I’d be keen to make my own almond butter, as it seems like one of those foods where they totally take advantage of you for trying to be healthy/ethical. *sigh*

    Can’t wait to hear how you get on!

    Reply
    • 12. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 14, 2010 at 8:21 am

      Next time, I would definitely omit the salt and try to blend the almonds without roasting them first. Now I am intrigued about adding things like cocoa powder and maple syrup to it too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


