23 weeks, 2 days

July 12, 2010 at 6:51 pm 8 comments

I had a midwife appointment today and it went well.  I gained 4 pounds which is exactly the recommended amount at this point in my pregnancy (1 pound per week).  I was stoked!  My belly is measuring well (funny to have the length measured rather than the width!) and the heartbeat is 145 beats per minute.  All is well in my uterus!  That is all I ask.

Sometimes I go through waves and kind of “forget” I am pregnant.  You probably don’t pick up on that on this blog, since I write about being pregnant so much (to justify apple fritter consumption mostly!), but when I’m busy, especially on weekends, I just kind of forget about the little baby inside of me.  Sure, my stomach is much larger and harder (like a rock!), but since I feel completely normal in every other way, it’s not something that’s at the forefront of my mind.  Then, when I feel a kick or really think about the fact that I am going to be someone’s mother in 4 months, I am jolted into remembering, “Oh yeah, there’s a human being inside of me right now!”.  I know I still have a ways to go, but honestly I have never been as happy as I am now.  Pregnancy agrees with me, I think.   I highly recommend it!  Remember, I don’t just recommend yogurt brands on this blog, but also major life decisions.

Well, this afternoon, it was a snack-arama.  I had intended to just have a peach and some trail mix, but a generous coworker (also pregnant, due just a couple of weeks after me!) offered me a white chocolate macadamia nut cookie.  Who am I to refuse a cookie?  A free cookie is a free cookie after all.

The trail mix is a combo picked up by my mother-in-law at Costco.  It has almonds, cashews, dried cranberries, dried blueberries, and yogurt chips.  It is highly addictive.

Because of all these snacks, I attempted to have a lighter supper, but kind of failed in that attempt…

Baked sweet potato with cinnamon, bean salad, macaroni salad, and an apricot

(Why is macaroni so much tastier than other pasta shapes?)

I am now sipping on coffee and have closed (and pad-locked) the kitchen for tonight.  I told husband that he is not to let me consume anymore food tonight!  A drastic measure, I know, but I have eaten more than enough for today.  I have my glucose tolerance test at my next midwife appointment in four weeks so I want to be even more conscientious about what I eat for the rest of this pregnancy to help prevent hypertension and gestational diabetes, two relatively common diseases that afflict the preggos.  Wish me luck with that one!  Thank God there are no more brownies in my possession.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Leftovers Homemade Almond Butter

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  July 12, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    So glad to hear all is well with baby! I hope pregnancy agrees with me too because I hear so many back-and-forth stories!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 13, 2010 at 8:21 am

      You just never know how pregnancy will treat a body! During my 1st trimester, I had about three weeks of persistent nausea that was only appeased by eating carbs constantly! Since then, I have been feeling great. I think healthy eating and walking 1/2 hour a day have definitely helped!

      Reply
  • 3. Heather  |  July 12, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    Aw! Preggo talk. It’s always nice to share the wonder and awe of it all! I recently saw a comedian on tv saying how he made a mistake of asking his VERY pregnant and tired wife what she did all day.
    Apparently, she paused,looked him in the eye, and very deadpan, said, “I made a lung.”
    Next time he tried to let her know how he was contributing to the family by taking out the trash, and she responded with “spleen.”
    How cool is it that you are a vessel carrying a human that is forming new body parts all the time?!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 13, 2010 at 8:22 am

      That is hilarious! I should have used the various parts when I was forming them in the 1st trimester. Now I think I am mostly just putting fat on the wee babe now! Wait, does this mean I get to eat more fat??!!? 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Erika  |  July 12, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    that plate looks so good! now im hungry… luckily i have mac salad in the fridge! thanks for the update on your pregnancy, so happy things are going so well 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 13, 2010 at 8:22 am

      ‘Tis the season for macaroni salad! You can’t go wrong with the dish 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Helena  |  July 12, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    So much fun reading about what you bought in the states! I really want to try Siggi’s yougurt too, but I’ll have to wait until we go down to Seattle.

    It’s even easier to forget that you’re pregnant with the second one ;-), especially in the midst of potty-training and finding a good pre-school.

    You look great by the way!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 13, 2010 at 8:23 am

      I can’t imagine taking care of a toddler and being pregnant too, especially during the tumultuous 1st trimester. You deserve many accolades! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


