Won’t you be my neighbour?

July 11, 2010 at 9:36 pm 4 comments

You always hear about Toronto being this cold, unfriendly city, but I have never lived in a neighbourhood like the one I do now.  When we first moved in, they had a welcome party for us!  Everyone knows each other by name and says hello.  And, today, I got to experience the generosity firsthand when my delightful neighbour from two doors down came over with a plate of homemade brownies.  He said they were for baby and would go down with a nice glass of milk!  How sweet is that?

He is a skinny guy and says he loves to bake.  Now that the humidity has broke, he spent all day in the kitchen making these and a cheesecake, except he doesn’t eat them for health reasons so he gives them away to others.  I told him he must be a popular guy.  I would like him to be my new best friend, because OMG.

You are looking at the best brownie I have ever eaten

There were rich and gooey but not too dense.  They had tender walnuts in them, and a fudge frosting.  They were off the hook!   They were far, far away from the hook.  These brownies and “the hook” have nothing to do with each other now, because, like I said, OMG.

In fear for the size of my thighs and the sugar content of my baby’s blood stream, I brought them to my in-laws this afternoon where they were quickly gobbled up.  I was told to demand the recipe from my neighbour and distribute it to an email list of my husband’s relatives.  Yes.  That good.

Before I dove into these brownies (I had two this afternoon and one after dinner), I had some leftover African Potato Peanut Stew for lunch along with some cherries for dessert.

For a snack before we headed out, I had 1/2 cup of 2% cottage cheese.

And while sitting outside and enjoying the weather this afternoon, I had the Chai Cola I picked up at Wegman’s yesterday.  It was weird, but good!  It was made with tea and chai spices, but was sweet, cold, and bubbly.  It threw my taste buds off there at first, but I really enjoyed it.  I only ever drink water or coffee (or Green Monsters!), so it was kind of fun to have a sweet, unhealthy drink.  Something about sitting in the sun and drinking carbonation is an appealing activity.

For dinner, I had the usual assortment of salads.  I tried to cut down on my usual portion size and I didn’t go back for seconds.  I knew there were brownies for dessert, and I was bent on having one!

I love deviled eggs.

But now I am hungry again!  Not enough protein at dinner.  If only there was some Icelandic yogurt! 🙂

So I am going to eat some watermelon and watch my PVR-d episode of Big Brother!  Perfect way to conclude a summer day, eh?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

I’ve died and gone to Siggi’s A new week

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  July 12, 2010 at 7:15 am

    That is so sweet of your neighbour! Our neighbourhood is pretty friendly as well (they did not, however, throw us a welcome party). We got a wack load of tomato plants from our back neighbour which we thought was nice and I always have the urge to bake for our elderly neighbour!

    Mmm…deviled eggs…

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 12, 2010 at 8:06 am

      I’ve never lived in such a friendly neighbourhood before! I like it, and not just because it means hand-delivered delicious brownies 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Stacey  |  July 12, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    How nice of your neightbour to give you home made brownies, you don’t get that very often these days!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 12, 2010 at 6:39 pm

      You really don’t! It’s like living in 1950’s small-town America or something 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


