More Pictures, Less Words

July 11, 2010 at 12:19 am 11 comments

After 16 hours of driving, shopping, eating, more shopping, eating, and more driving, I am exhausted!  Not too exhausted, however, to show you my day.  I will stick mostly to pictures because I am one tired blogger!  I just typed “blooger”.  Now that is tired.

It all began by leaving my beautiful city…

Not without being prepared with appropriate snacks!

New flavour purchased at everyone’s favourite discount department store — Target!

We lunched at The Cheesecake Factory.  Callie was right:  Basically Heaven on Earth.

Pre-eating:

Mid-eating:

He declared the “Memphis burger” as THE best burger he has ever had.  And he has had his share of burgers, let me tell you.  I asked him to make a face that clearly communicated the greatness of this burger, and this is what he came up with.  Pretty intense, huh?

I stuck to the Fresh Vegetable salad: Asparagus, green beans, tomatoes, cucumber, apple, radicchio, edamame, beets, and cubed white cheddar in a pomegranate vinaigrette.  This was an appetizer-sized salad but it was huge!  I almost didn’t have room for cheesecake.

Almost.

There was peanut butter, there was chocolate, there was cheesecake.

There was insanity.

We shared the sliced, but in an act that has never before been known to either husband or myself, WE DID NOT FINISH IT.

So saddened that my body could not handle the challenge.

More shopping ensued, including the acquisition of Greek yogurt, and then we headed back to Canada for meal #2!  My mom’s birthday dinner at a Thai restaurant.

I ordered a tofu stir fry, devoid of both pad thai noodles and green curry.  These are my favourite Thai staples but I was trying to be healthy, with “trying” being the key word here.

Plus a whole load of steamed white rice.

Back at the house, we had ice cream cake.  I did not take a picture, but rest assured I ate my entire slice.  My body did not fail me this time!

Ever-important cat picture:

And ever-important pictures of my stash!  I really cleaned up in the States this time.  You’re welcome, American economy!

I have been dying to try the Siggi’s!  They were $2 each which makes this a major SPLURGE.  You would think that Canada would have more Icelandic yogurt considering we are geographically closer.  Unfortunately, that is not how these things work out.

We can get Luna Bars in Canada, but not for 99 cents each!  And not such cool flavours.  All bars seem to be much less expensive in the States.  I detect a conspiracy.

This just sounded too good not to try.

Yes, you read that correctly.  A “Dulce de Leche” flavoured Luna Bar.  OMG.

Bootsy inspected the stash, wondering why mom didn’t buy more Fancy Feast?

I don’t usually like pop, but this marketing ploy obviously worked on me!

This I will bathe in tomorrow morning.

Whole bean coffee is necessary for healthy fetal development.  This is what I am told by my ob/gyn, Dr. Starbucks.

Now if only Maple Almond Butter could be found in jar-form, THEN we’d be onto something!

So a pretty productive day in the land of Cheektowaga, New York.  Now I am going to count the hours until I can break open one of those Siggi’s for breakfast…review to follow, of course!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

On the road I’ve died and gone to Siggi’s

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  July 11, 2010 at 6:27 am

    I’m glad you had such a good time! Looks like you had a fun day, and you and the hus are both really cute 🙂

    I’m so jealous of your dark chocolate Maranatha! Gotta find myself some next time I’m down there. Last time I went I stocked up on Luna bars too, the border guy looked at me like I was crazy when I declared that all I bought was a bowl and 6 boxes of granola bars. I’m excited to find out how the Siggi’s are, I saw them but they were so expensive I couldn’t justify buying any.

    Now I want cheesecake 😦

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 11, 2010 at 9:05 am

      They had dark chocolate peanut butter and dark chocolate almond butter Marantha so I opted for the pb (when has this combo ever let me down?). I am a bit worried that once the jar is open, I will lock my doors, unplug my phone, and not socialize with anyone until it is finished. Things could get pretty ugly 🙂

      I was afraid the border guard was going to make me open my cooler and show off all my yogurt! Then they would pull me over for clearly being insane, but luckily that didn’t happen!

      Reply
      • 3. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  July 11, 2010 at 10:39 am

        I just got some dark chocolate peanut butter. NEVER AGAIN. I swear I must be eating it in my sleep, because it is almost gone. 🙂

      • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 11, 2010 at 9:14 pm

        This makes me very excited, and very scared. Dark chocolate peanut butter elicits quite the emotion!

  • 5. Heather  |  July 11, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Niiiiiiiiiiiiice! 🙂
    So, do you have to go to the bank and exchange your money for American money before you go shopping here?sorry if that’s a kinda dumb question!
    I’ve never been past border patrol on the US/Canada border, so I’ve obviously never gone shopping there either!
    Glad you had a good day.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 11, 2010 at 9:07 am

      Not a dumb question at all! Since we are so close to the American border and, obviously, American shopping is so much fun, so it is very easy to exchange Canadian money for American money at the bank. For a while there, our money was on par, but right now Canadian money is worth about 5 cents less per dollar than American which kind of sucks. My $2 Siggi’s yogurt really costs me $2.10 Canadian. I used American money I had left over from a trip to Florida in February, so it almost felt like “free” money if that makes any sense! Like when you find a dollar in your jeans pocket, y’know? 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Therese  |  July 11, 2010 at 9:17 am

    I am so jealous of your stash!

    Have you ever tried PB & Co.’s peanut butter?! Best peanut butter! I just picked up Dark Chocolate Dreams yesterday and had some on bread this morning. *gasp* Ah-mazing!

    Glad you had such a great time! You guys deserved a nice treat!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 11, 2010 at 9:37 am

      Yes! Last year, I was at the Walmart Supercentre and they had a bunch of their organic food on sale. A couple of these items were PB & Co. peanut butter. They were on sale for $2.50 each! After I fell over, died, and got resuscitated, I bought two jars: one was a cinnamon raisin flavour, and the other was a white chocolate. It was an amazing couple of months of peanut butter consumption! I have seen them in Whole Foods and my local health food store, but haven’t splurged — yet. Ever since I started this blog, I have been more apt to splurge on such food items. Ironic, since I’m “apparently” all about frugality 🙂

      Thanks for your kind words! I am sorry I am missing the Toronto blogger meet-up today — hopefully soon there will be another one! Have fun 🙂

      Reply
  • […] 11, 2010 In case you missed it, I wrote about my excursion to America here!  You will note that I didn’t buy any clothes, just lots and lots of food.  It is what I […]

    Reply
  • 10. Kat  |  July 11, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    I’m amazed that you were able to get Siggi’s for $2 per container! In NYC it is $3-4, so I don’t ever buy it. $3-4 is TOO MUCH for one container of yogurt, no matter the protein count! (Which saddens me. Because DAYUM.)

    Reply
    • 11. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 11, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      It was on sale for $1.99 and I didn’t even bother reading the non-sale price. $3-4 is ridonks! I don’t even think I could justify that cost to myself. I may buy a container on my birthday, but that’s about it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


