Tacos! Burritos! What’s that coming out of your Speedo?

July 9, 2010 at 7:04 pm 9 comments

Sorry for the subject heading immaturity, but I couldn’t resist 🙂

Have I mentioned lately that I love having Friday afternoons off?  Because I do!  Grocery shopping is done for the week, I have read a magazine from cover-to-cover, and I have caught up on all my favourite blogs and other Internet-related entertainment (basically, celebrity gossip).

For a snack this afternoon, I had some pre-grocery shopping baby carrots and peanut butter.

Post-grocery shopping, I had a small bowl of leftover Quinoa and Beans.  This was inspired by the fact that my fridge was full and something had to be chucked.  I prefer the food to be chucked into my belly.

Dinner was an F ‘n’ F standard:  vegetarian tacos!  This is one of my favourites because husband can make it on his own.  Is there anything better than coming home from work to dinner simmering on the stove, albeit one spiced with the tantalizing odour of tacos?  There is not!  But I was home today, so I helped him out.  Because of my Quinoa and Bean appetizer, I just made a tortilla-less taco salad.

Spinach, veggie ground round, black beans, mushrooms, green peppers, onions, non-fat plain yogurt, salsa, and cheddar cheese!

And Green Monsters!

For two, ingredients included:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1.5 cups of frozen blueberries
  • 2 cups of 1% milk
  • Lots and lots of baby spinach

For dessert, some decaf green tea, a few spice cookies, raspberries, and cherries to share with husband.  It is a pretty wild Friday night over here.

I love raspberries.  I wish they were as plentiful (and inexpensive) as strawberries!

************************

See, I am detoxing after last night’s two donut extravaganza, and also in preparation for tomorrow’s two meal out day. For lunch, we are hoping to hit up one of two not-available-in-Canada restaurants:  Olive Garden or Cheesecake Factory.

The O.G. does not have the greatest quality of food in the world, but I still love it.  On annual family trips to Florida, we always ate at Olive Garden!  The ice burg lettuce salad and the white flour, garlicky breadsticks are paralleled by none!  Plus, they have zeppoles for dessert which I last had in February and have dreamt about ever since.

Then there is the Cheesecake Factory.  Is it really a factory of cheesecake?  I have never been, but with a name like that, I am fully intrigued.

What would you choose?

For dinner, we are heading to my parents’ and having Thai to celebrate my mom’s birthday.  I will likely choose something light, like a mango salad or some sort of veggie-centric stir fry (minus my beloved coconut curry sauce *sniff*)

What with the shopping, I am hoping – nay, EXPECTING – tomorrow to be The Best Day Ever.  We shall see!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

It’s a rainy day in Pizzaville On the road

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  July 9, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    Cheesecake Factory. Definitely, definitely Cheesecake Factory.

    Reply
  • 2. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  July 9, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    OH MY GOSH, YOU NEED TO GO TO THE CHEESECAKE FACTORY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s my favourite American restaurant!!!!! I know some people don’t like it and feel that the portions are really huge (which they are), but it’s soooo delicious and reasonably priced (and I think the huge portions are great for travel because it means I have a breakfast/lunch the next day) and I always make sure I go there every time I’m in Buffalo! I was actually blogging last time I went, so if you want a recap check out:

    http://www.callieflowerkitchen.com/2010/04/25/trip-recap-take-2/

    I would highly recommend getting their tropical iced tea, and I usually order the Corn Tamale appetizer as my meal and it’s sooooooo delicious. And every single kind of cheesecake is awesome! I’ve also been to Olive Garden, and while the food was good, it wasn’t all kinds of awesome like Cheesecake Factory. I should totally work for Cheesecake Factory promotions 😉

    Enjoy your trip!

    Reply
    • 3. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 10, 2010 at 11:49 pm

      I went to the Cheesecake Factory.

      It was everything you said it would be.

      I thank you for that.

      Always and forever.

      🙂

      Reply
  • 4. Lauren  |  July 10, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Hello! This is Lauren – Iain’s co-worker at TSN, he sent me an email about your blog and I’m really enjoying it! It looks like you’re having a lot of fun writing it, too! 🙂 Since I’ve been a vegetarian for my whole life, I have loads of recipes that I could share with you sometime if you’re interested!

    You totally have to go to the Cheesecake Factory. I went there a couple of weeks ago when I was in the US and it was AMAZING. It is a full restaurant with amazing fresh food…I can tell you from my experiences that the pizza and pasta are awesome, super fresh, and they have lots of vegetarian options! .And then….the cheesecake! There are 36 different types of cheesecake in every flavor you can imagine! I got a white chocolate caramel macadamia nut cheesecake that was incredible!

    I also saw that you wrote about veggie tacos, I also make veggie tacos the way that my parents made them when we were growing up…it’s really easy, the tacos and made with potatoes and beans. You cut up some potatoes into tiny cubes and fry them in a frying pan in some oil (on medium heat…lower the heat if they brown too quickly) – just test them and make sure they’re cooked / browned… Also add some chili pepper or cayenne pepper to the potatoes as well as a bit of salt (as much as you’d like depending on how spicy you like food!). Once the potatoes have mostly cooked, add a can of black beans (rinsed/drained first) and chopped onion. Cook through for a few more minutes and that’s the filling for the tortilla! When wrapping it into the soft flour tortilla, add any other toppings that you’d like (salsa, sour cream, cheese, etc.)

    Anyway, I hope that you & Iain (and the cats!) have a great summer!

    Reply
    • 5. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 10, 2010 at 11:49 pm

      Hey Lauren, Iain just told me he referred you to my blog and I’m so glad you like it! If you have any other vegetarian recipes, please feel free to send them my way 🙂

      We ended up at Cheesecake Factory and it was everything I hoped for, and then some. Pictures to come in my next post!

      I love the idea of adding potatoes and beans as a filling for tacos. Frugal too! Will definitely be trying that out. Thanks!

      Iain (and the cats!) say hello 🙂

      Reply
      • 6. Lauren  |  July 15, 2010 at 9:58 pm

        I have sooo many vegetarian and vegan recipes! I have recipe books that I have made out of old photo albums and every time I make a recipe that I like, I take a photo of it and put it above the index recipe card that is below in the album. Hooray for being organized 😉 Sooo if there are any specific recipes that you are looking for, I can always email them to you (or Iain) so you can try them out! I have lots of different bean or lentil recipes, too, which are quite frugal and very tasty 🙂

      • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 16, 2010 at 7:48 am

        I love your recipe book idea! I just keep a binder with recipes I have jotted down, but I like your system better — much more organized, and pictures are a bonus! If you don’t mind passing along your favourite lentil recipe or two, I would love to have them. I am trying to get more into lentils, due to their frugal, healthful nature. You can always email it to me at frugalnfit@gmail.com. Thanks Lauren!

  • 8. Christina  |  July 10, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    dude, OG all the way. i don’t care if it’s a homogenized, faux-italian suburban chain. it is wondrous.

    also, cheesecake factory has never impressed me. i didn’t think they had that many veg options. (i mean, the standards, yes — veggie burger, portobello sandwich, veg pasta, veg pizza, but come on people. (not that OG has a ton, they’re just all veeeery tasty and come with free salad and bread.)

    and i’ve had better cheesecake. just sayin’, your name’s cheesecake factory and you charge $7 a slice, you had better have good cheesecake! alas.

    that’s my vote!

    Reply
    • 9. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 10, 2010 at 11:46 pm

      I feel your OG love but we ended up at the Cheesecake Factory! There will always be a special place in my heart for the salad and breadsticks. ALWAYS.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


