This is what frugal looks like

July 8, 2010 at 7:08 pm 4 comments

Today is awesome.  Not only does Big Brother start in, like, one hour, but I just received the best news ever!

I will take 17 bars of Lindt Sea Salt Dark Chocolate, please (one bar for each week left in this pregnancy).  It’s not for me, it’s for my baby 🙂

For a snack this afternoon, I polished off the last of the Coconut Cherry Banana bread.  Usually by the end of a loaf, I am ready for it to be done.  Not with this loaf.  This loaf is one for the memory books.

In keeping with my new habit of having 2 afternoon snacks, I had 2 slices.  And that big, black thing is a cherry, not a roach 😉

My master plan to have husband cook dinner worked!  He barbecued burgers for dinner, and I created some refreshing Green Monsters!

  • 1/2 frozen sliced banana
  • 2 large handfuls of spinach
  • 1 cup of frozen sliced peaches
  • 1 cup of 1% milk

What did I drink before Green Monsters?  It’s not even worth trying to remember.

My burger was excellent.

Soy burger with cheese, ketchup, relish, and honey mustard on a white bun (gasp!) (that’s the only kind they had at Shoppers Drugmart!) (Please don’t judge me for buying food at a drug store!)

********************

Over at the site Almost Frugal, they ask the same four questions to different writers who blog about frugality.  No one has asked me to answer these questions myself, but when has that ever stopped me?  I thought it would be a fun way to add more on the topic of frugality to this blog.  Enough with the pictures of carrots already, right?!

What does frugality mean to you?

In essence, I equate frugality with freedom.  I’m serious!  By living a frugal life, not only do I prove to myself that I need very little to be happy, but I’m also able to save money so that I will never be stuck in a tough financial situation again.  It means not having to keep a crappy job because I live pay cheque-to-pay cheque, or having to pay interest on one of life’s surprises (leaky roof, broken car, chipped tooth etc.), or denying myself the luxury of eating at any freaking restaurant if I so desire.  There is a restaurant in Toronto that serves a meal for two for like $600 and I could eat there if I wanted!  I don’t want to, but I couldThat is freedom!

What is something that you do that is ‘typically’ frugal?

I am about as mainstream as they come, so this will be point-form.  I do A LOT of typically frugal things:

  • I bring my lunch to work every day
  • I take public transit instead of driving and parking at work (which means we are a one car family)
  • I make my own smoothies!
  • I limit the amount of meals I have out each month.  I do not limit the amount of coffee I have out 🙂
  • I keep a tight budget and record every single purchase in an Excel spreadsheet (and then post it here on Mondays for all those voyeurs out there!)
  • I shop at discount department stores

What is something frugal that you do that is unusual?

I admit, I can take the frugality thing a bit too far.  For instance, I use a backpack during the week because it makes my commute on public transit easier (since I take my lunch and all).  For a long time, I had a giant rip at the top of my $15 backpack that I’ve had for 7 years.  Husband begged me to buy a new one, but I couldn’t justify it to myself.  The backpack still worked, so why buy a new one!?  He suggested I use his, but I even had trouble bringing myself to do that.  I am so stubborn!  Finally, he literally had to place his non-ripped sack next to mine and I finally started using his.  Honestly, his backpack is so much better!  No rip, and much more comfortable to wear.  To think, frugality (and stubbornness) almost prevented me from discovering this.

What are some of your long-term goals that being frugal will help you to accomplish?

My frugality is rooted in becoming a mother.  I don’t know if you heard this rumour or not, but kids cost money!  I know, I was shocked too.   I want Beansy to see a bit of the world as he/she’s growing up.  I want him/her to be able to go on every school trip.  I want to pay for Beansy’s college, or at least that majority of it.  And, preferably, I would like to spend more time with my baby than a daycare worker would.  This is the biggest weight on my mind right now.

Oh, and I’d also like to have a nice retirement fund so that I can be a “snow bird” and spend January and February in Boca Raton playing shuffleboard in my culottes.

*************************

I just had a mad craving for an apple fritter.  I don’t think it’s a pregnancy craving sort of thing, I think it’s just a Robyn thing.  I love donuts, but obviously limit myself because of the whole non-fit/non-frugal aspect of their nature.

But, sometimes, a girl’s just gotta have a fritter!

And maybe a small iced cappuccino for good measure too.

The horror of flash photography!

T-minus 54 minutes and counting…:)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Not Salad Last night, I ate two donuts

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  July 8, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Gaaaah I’m going to have to tape BB and watch it later because I’m going to bikram at 8!! But I just found out that tonight is the premiere of Big Brother AND Jersey Shore… and I think I just peed myself a bit 😉 PVR don’t let me down!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 9, 2010 at 8:07 am

      Good vibes to the PVR!!! I hope it worked its magic 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  July 9, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Love your frugal answers! I’m definitely having to live a frugal life and most always have. I just don’t make enough money to not be! Ha! But seriously, especially this year with going back to school and paying for the whole thing myself(!) it’s been tough on the ol’ pocket book. I’ve really had to learn to prioritize my expenses although going out for dinner still happens a bit too much. We just like eating out!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 9, 2010 at 8:08 am

      The problem with eating out is that it’s so freaking enjoyable, especially after a long, busy day. I think it’s just a matter of prioritizing one’s “splurges”. If eating out is on the top of the list, then it’s worth it, y’know? 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


