African Potato Peanut Stew

July 7, 2010 at 7:25 pm 10 comments

We are completely embroiled in one of the worst heat waves I have experienced in years, so for dinner I decided to stand in front of a stove for a 1/2 hour and make a hot stew.  I am so smart!  S-M-R-T.

But first:  Afternoon snacks!

Kashi Granola bar:

Apricots and almonds.  I am really coming to appreciate my decision to bring two afternoon snacks.  I know myself well.  Really, I know my appetite well!

This afternoon, the thought did cross my mind to just pick up subs for dinner.  Cool, refreshing, and requiring no source of heat, subs would have made a fine meal.  For the two of us to eat, it would have cost about $12 which is not bad at all.

But then I got to thinking.

That is about 12% of our weekly grocery bill, just for one meal.  We have a kitchen stocked full of delicious food.  We are going out for TWO meals on Saturday.  I could make dinner for $5 or less that would come with leftovers.  Plus?  Cooking is therapeutic.  I think Oprah said that once and I’m sure Martha Stewart has said it many times (I always take advice from high-powered media moguls).

I decided to cook African Potato Peanut Stew for dinner tonight.  I have made this recipe many times before and love it.  I have no idea who first thought to combine tomatoes and peanut butter, but they are so smart!  S-M-A-R-T.

I love everything about this dish:  It’s simple and only uses one pot, has a great combination of ingredients, it’s very healthy, has great spiciness (so many spices!), and a wonderful texture.  Much of this can be attributed to the addition of peanut butter.  Like sweet potatoes, peanut butter makes everything better.  This recipe also requires a jalapeno.  The delicious, but malicious, jalapeno!

True story: Once I sliced a jalapeno and then scratched my nose.  Words to the wise:  Do not do this.

The spiciness that transferred to my nostril was so horrific that I had husband quickly Google remedies for a jalapeno burn.  Apparently, citrus does the trick, so what then followed was me bending over the kitchen sink with husband shoving half an orange up my nose.  I really kind of wish this wasn’t a true story.

I have learned my lesson and know to completely wash my hands immediately after slicing a jalapeno!

Serves 4-6

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and finely chopped (WASH YOUR HANDS AFTERWARDS!)
  • 2 tsps minced fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp minced french garlic
  • 2 tsps ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 tsp ground coriander
  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1 inch chunks
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 can of navy beans or chickpeas
  • 1 pound green beans (I was out, so I used half a diced zucchini and some frozen peas)
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter

1.  Cook 1/3 cup water, onion, jalapeno, ginger and garlic in large pot for 5 minutes.  Add cumin, coriander, red pepper and coriander and cook for 1 more minute.

2.  Add the rest of the ingredients, bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

This is sooooo good.  One of the best recipes I have posted on here yet!  Now that’s my F ‘n’ F word of honour (lame).

While this was simmering, I made me and husband some Green Monsters!

This turned out really thick and frothy, and was actually an appealing shade of blue (and not it’s usual shade of death!).  I love when it’s so thick I have to eat it with a spoon!

For one:

  • 1 cup 1% milk
  • 1/2 sliced banana, frozen
  • 1 cup of frozen blueberries
  • 2 handfuls of baby spinach

Now we are watching TMZ (omg Lindsay Lohan!) and eating cookies.  4 for only 130 calories.  Schwing!

Finally, token pictures of my cats.  It’s just a nice way to conclude things 😉

He is still in his “center piece” phase

“Now where is the Fancy Feast, beeotch?!”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Intense Mint BIG DAY

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  July 7, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    The stew does look GOOD! I’ve always wanted to try that, but I get intimidated if something has more than 5 ingredients 😦
    I’m a simmpleton that way 🙂
    Love the kitty pics. I want a cat, but we have a dog and a fish and another animal would be overwhelming.
    Hope you survive the heat wave….at least you have leftovers for tomorrow,eh?

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 8, 2010 at 8:11 am

      I’ve always wanted a dog so we can just live vicariously through each other 🙂

      Husband is talking about burgers for dinner tonight, which would be fine by me! This means he can stand in front of the hot BBQ while I sit in the air conditioning and wait for dinner 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Michelle  |  July 8, 2010 at 2:24 am

    I like your blog a lot! I just linked through the comments sections of Oh She Glows (a longtime fav). I like your voice a lot. It’s a bit sarcastic without being mean to anyone or anything in any way.

    I tried to blog a bit and I know how hard it is, but I really hope you stick with it. It will be fun to see your journey as you transition to motherhood. And, you never know, you could end up making some dough off it someday. 🙂

    Take care,
    Michelle

    Best,
    Michelle

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 8, 2010 at 8:13 am

      Thanks Michelle! Oh She Glows is one of my absolute favourites too. If it wasn’t for Angela, I’d never have thought to put spinach in my smoothies!

      I tried food blogging over a year ago and FAILED. It can be a lot of work! Honestly, having the iPhone camera has made the job worlds easier because I never have an excuse to forget taking a picture — my phone is always on me!

      Making some dough off this venture would be completely wonderful! From you mouth to God’s ears, right? 😉

      Take care, and thanks for reading 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. steph (@ mediterranean miss)  |  July 8, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Hi girl!
    I found your blog through Kristin’s. The stew looks great, and I totally laughed at the Jalepeno story, although I’m glad your husband was there to save the day, even if that did mean inhaling an orange through your nose =\

    Love the blog, look forward to reading more!
    Steph

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 8, 2010 at 8:15 am

      Thanks! The “jalapeno incident” will live in infamy. I reminded husband about it yesterday and he said “why didn’t we just flush your nose with juice instead of using the actual fruit”? Ah, hindsight! 😉

      Reply
  • 7. Amanda C  |  July 8, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    One of these days I’m going to have to get around to making potato peanut strew. It will have to wait until the heat wave passes though, no air conditioning for me 🙂 I imagine it would work really well in the crockpot too.\

    Snugs is still too cute. Bootsy as well, but Snugs, oh!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 8, 2010 at 2:18 pm

      No air conditioning for you?! You are a trooper!

      Snugs has a certain je ne sais quoi about her, non? 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Amanda C  |  July 8, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    It isn’t so bad without air conditioning (thankfully work is overly air conditioned). It just means adapting and not doing too much, which is fine by me! It also helps that we have a fan, otherwise I don’t think we’d sleep!

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 8, 2010 at 2:48 pm

      I still think you deserve some sort of medal or at least a few accolades! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


