Nutty day

July 6, 2010 at 11:38 am 11 comments

It’s been a nutty day.  Not figuratively, literally!

I had nut butter for breakfast,

Nuts for a snack,

And nuts on my salad.

Tell me I’m not the only one amused by this.  Oh, I am?  😉

For a snack, I had some almonds, 2 dates, and 3 dried apricots.  It was like an unprocessed Larabar!

This was really filling and I wasn’t hungry at my usual time, but I still ate lunch at 11 am anyway.    It’s what I do.

This delicious salad contains:

  • Baby spinach
  • Broccoli
  • Mushrooms
  • Tomato
  • Cucumber
  • Orange pepper
  • Hummus
  • Feta cheese
  • Almonds
  • Balsamic Vinaigrette

I continue to adore the hummus + feta + avocado combination.  The almonds provided a nice “crunch”, too!

Now it is time to eat some sea salt chocolate!  It should always be time to eat sea salt chocolate, really 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Hot stuff Quinoa (aka “Best Grain Ever!”)

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. andrea @ a cake for a wife.  |  July 6, 2010 at 11:58 am

    I approve of all the nuttiness. 🙂 Especially the unprocessed larabar, hehe. Sometimes I even spread almond butter on my dates or apricots, total Larabar heaven!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 6, 2010 at 12:01 pm

      Ooh, I have tried the nut butter on date combo. So good! (and much more frugal 😉 )

      Reply
  • 3. Stacey @ Tipping the (Kitchen!) Scales  |  July 6, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    Can’t go wrong with nuts ; )

    Reply
  • 5. Heather  |  July 6, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    I love nuts and nutbutters, too 🙂
    I always say that if I write an autobiography it would be called
    “If you are what youeat, then I must be nuts!”

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 6, 2010 at 3:21 pm

      I love that title! I would definitely read that autobiography.

      Reply
  • 7. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  July 6, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    That sea salt chocolate isn’t vegan.

    I don’t want to talk about it.

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 6, 2010 at 7:05 pm

      This is the saddest thing I have heard all day.

      Reply
  • […] Luckily, quinoa isn’t just a funky-named, healthy grain eaten by hippies on communes.  It actually tastes good!  When cooked, it is light and fluffy in texture and nutty in flavour (and if there is one thing you know about me, it’s that I like nuts!) […]

    Reply
  • 10. Therese  |  July 7, 2010 at 7:28 am

    You’ve got me hooked on sea salt chocolate!

    Reply
    • 11. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 7, 2010 at 8:20 am

      Hurrah! Now if only I could receive some “kick backs” from Lindt (in the form of free sea salt chocolate. Ha!).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


