Retreat from the heat

July 5, 2010 at 8:52 am 4 comments

Note:  I will likely begin every entry this week talking about the weather because it is one hot mother out there!

As noted above, it is one hot mother out there!  I walk to the subway at 7:00 am and usually the day is still cool at that time, but once I opened my door I was hit by a wave of heat.  A heat wave, if you will.  I love the heat because it means strappy sandals, tank tops, and no chance of flurries, but I have to say that the air conditioned subway was EXTREMELY welcome after my 25 minute walk.  Of course, I still bought some hot coffee before heading into the office, because old habits die hard 😉

So for breakfast, I knew I wanted my favourite combination of Green Monster + loaf.  To me, it is the perfect blend of protein, carbs, and fruit (and vegetables!).


I found the Cherry Coconut Banana bread improved in flavour the day after baking.  It was still moist and very tasty.

The Green Monster, on the other hand, was not one of my favourites.  It tasted like spinach!  How the heck did that happen?  I used a typical combination of:

  • 1 1/4 cup 1% milk
  • 1 cup frozen peaches
  • 1/2 banana
  • Lots of baby spinach

I did use more milk than usual because my milk bag was floppy and poured faster than I realized, and I almost forgot to add the banana until mid-blend, but other than that, this was a typical recipe.  Not one of my favourites, but still good.  I mean, this is a GM we are talking about.


Bubbly

Now it is time for The Monday Rundown!  These are my miscellaneous expenses from June 27th to July 4th:

Medium coffee $2.00
Cherries $2.50
Tall coffee $1.89
Muffin $1.94
Small coffee $1.75
Cherries $3.95
Tall coffee $1.89
Freshii wrap $7.67
Mom’s birthday gift $31.45
Hippie stash $28.47
Muffin and scone $4.00
Eggplant sandwich $5.50
Iced Americano $2.50
Soap, granola bars, cookies $8.77
Total for week $104.28

I bought a lot of fun, healthy food last week and look forward to much coconut butter in my immediate future.  I would not recommend the Freshii wrap but I would recommend the eggplant sandwich from the St. Lawrence market!  Again, I stayed under budget, but that is not likely to happen this week as I am going to Buffalo, New York with my husband for a day of shopping on Saturday.  Me + Target = Shopping Explosion!   Once I enter those hallowed red doors, there is no such word as “frugal” in my lexicon 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

A Pizza Pie! The hummus, avocado, feta trifecta

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dmcgirl37  |  July 5, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Bubbly green monsters are the best!

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 5, 2010 at 1:46 pm

      They are! If only this one tasted a bit better 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  July 6, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    you can stand coffee? the smell and sight of it brings on nausea. and i have to ask what is your “hippie stash”?

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 6, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      I couldn’t stand either coffee or tea during my first trimester! Luckily, that side effect quickly went away 🙂

      My hippie stash was what I bought at the health food store on Friday: coconut butter, barley, larabars, dates, and other “healthy” food 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


