Pancake Fail

July 5, 2010 at 6:42 pm 7 comments

I just had a disappointing dinner.  But enough about me, how are you?

For an afternoon snack, I tried a new bar I picked up at the health food store on Friday called H&A Natural Bars.  I do believe they are a Canadian company!  There were various flavours to choose from, but I chose the Seed Bar.  I think it cost in the $1.30 range which isn’t too bad for a fancy pants bar.

Ingredients include: pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, flax seeds, honey, orange blossom water, and lemon juice.  Sounded good to me!

And it was very tasty.

And very seedy.

For an additional afternoon snack, I had a peach.  It was also very tasty but not very seedy (thank goodness, or then we’d have problems).

Well I was super-pumped to make my way home through the humid swamp air because we were planning breakfast for dinner!  I was going to try my hand again at Protein Pancakes because the ingredient list (cottage cheese, oats, and egg white) is just too appealing not to make them.  But it was such a FAIL.  Not so much in the flavour or texture, but more in the cooking.  Even though I oiled my cast iron skillet, these suckers kept getting stuck.  I had such a difficult time trying to make semi-presentable pancakes.  This is what I salvaged:

A little rough around the edges.  And around the middle.

The only change I made this time was to add some baking soda, vanilla and cinnamon, as well as blueberries.  See?  All GOOD changes, but these really sucked.  My Protein Pancake days may be behind me.

I just covered them in fruit and maple syrup and called it a day.

Another problem with pancakes for dinner is that I was left craving something savory.  I decided to have a slice of decidedly unsavory Cherry Coconut Banana bread slathered with a new type of nut butter.  It is so rare to try a new nut butter around these parts, so it was particularly exciting!

***NEW NUT BUTTER ALERT***

I picked this up when I was in Florida in February.  It’s been patiently waiting for me on my shelf until I finished up the giant jar of plain natural peanut butter that I’ve been using.  I don’t go through peanut butter as quickly as, say, almond butter for obvious reasons.  I was excited to try this!

The ingredient list intrigued me, as did the nutritional facts.  omega-3s!  4 grams of fibre!  10 grams of protein!

I just ate this like 10 minutes ago but I am already salivating again

It was really good!  More of a dessert-y type of nut butter because of the additional sugar and honey, but I loved it.  A nice alternative to the plain stuff.

For the rest of the evening, I think I will channel flip, do some squats, and continually open the refrigerator door trying to aimlessly find something savory to eat.

Have a great evening!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

The hummus, avocado, feta trifecta Hot stuff

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  July 5, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Sorry to hear your pancakes were a fail. 😦 Don’t you hate it when you’re looking forward to something and it doesn’t turn out?! Nuts to that!

    On another note, our a/c is on the fritz, we may not live through the night…If you don’t hear from me tomorrow, call 911…

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 5, 2010 at 7:16 pm

      omg, no air conditioning!? my thoughts and prayers are with you and your loved ones at this difficult time.

      now i feel bad for complaining about failed pancakes! 😉

      Reply
  • 3. land animal  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Hmmm… that bar is shockingly seedy! And I don’t know how I feel about it. Do I need more seeds in my life? Maybe…. I think I may try one of those.

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 6, 2010 at 8:13 am

      This seedy bar is not for the faint hearted. I think everyone needs more seeds in their life! 🙂

      Reply
  • […] 1 spoonful of my new nut butter […]

    Reply
  • 6. Helena  |  July 6, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Too bad with the pancakes. I actually made the pancakes, but used whole eggs and a little milk instead of eggwhites. I also added baking powder and vanilla and they turned out great (used my non-stick pan). My son and I loved them. Thanks!

    It’s getting really hot here in Vancouver too and I feel a bit uncomfortable with the big belly and I usually love summers. Have you noticed a difference? Be sure to drink lots :-).

    Reply
    • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 6, 2010 at 7:06 pm

      Maybe I should have used baking powder instead of soda. And the non-stick pan would be a big help too! Hmmm.

      The belly isn’t too cumbersome yet but I just read that baby is going to double in weight these next four weeks so August should be fun! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


