The Beach

July 4, 2010 at 8:17 am 12 comments

Happy 4th of July to my American compadres!

Source of picture

Honestly, I would be a little freaked out if I saw this many fireworks at once

I woke up at the ripe hour of 7 am because I am 87 years old.  I had a shower and knew exactly what I was planning on for breakfast:  The apricot zucchini bran muffin I picked up yesterday at the market and a Green Monster.  This combination sounded perfect to me.

The Green Monster consisted of:

  • 1 cup 1% milk
  • 1 cup of frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 large handful of spinach (I’m almost out already!)

Not the most appetizing shade in the scheme of colours

This muffin was so heavy and dense which, as you know, I love.  But I couldn’t find any evidence of zucchini or apricot, just raisins!  I detect a conspiracy.

Still tasty though

Now I am up, cleaned, fed, and ready to present myself to society at large.  I am heading to the beach!

Source of picture

If only my local beach looked like this

I am heading to the beach on Lake Ontario.  Subtract the palm trees and turquoise water and replace it with hungry seagulls and polluted water 😉  I live near “The Beaches” in Toronto (you’re welcome, stalkers).  It’s like the California of Toronto if that makes any sense!  I love it there.  My only qualm is that I have to walk up a gigantic hill on my way home.  It is tough, especially now with the extra human being in my body, but I will manage.

Have a great day!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Lazy Afternoon A Pizza Pie!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  July 4, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Have a great day at the beach! Sounds like a nice relaxing time 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 4, 2010 at 6:58 pm

      It was fabulous! Now if only I had tomorrow off like my American friends 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  July 4, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Looks like a good day to hit the beach, I think we may do the same!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 4, 2010 at 6:58 pm

      It was perfect weather! Did you end up hitting the beach?

      Reply
  • 5. Melissa @ For the Love of Health  |  July 4, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    The Beaches in Toronto are actually quite nice- I lived in Toronto for 10 years and didn’t discover the area until I was moving away 🙂
    The muffin looks amazing!!
    Swing by my blog to check out my giveaway!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 4, 2010 at 6:59 pm

      Yeah, I’ve been here for 6 years but only discovered “the beaches” once we moved to this neighbourhood. It’s pretty fabulous!

      Reply
  • 7. Angie  |  July 4, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    Excellent. My stalking craziness has been thusly satisfied! bwa ha ha! Oh wait. I totally have been to your house before. Nevermind.

    Reply
  • 9. Therese  |  July 5, 2010 at 7:46 am

    Sounds like you and I need to have a blogger meet-up soon if you also live near the Beaches (and not “The Beach”). A little date on Queen St perhaps?!

    You’re totally making me crave a GM right now, I haven’t had one since yesterday! *gasp* The shame!

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:30 am

      I would love to meet up sometime!

      Get thee to a blender with spinach and banana in hand! 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. Walkfit Platinum  |  July 11, 2013 at 9:01 am

    Physical therapy treatment encourages the production of your body’s natural pain-relieving chemicals, thereby assisting the body to heal itself. Many people who prefer not to take any vitamins though, simply expose themselves to sunlight. At the core should be low back and hip flexibility exercises and low back, hip and abdominal strengthening exercises.

    Reply
  • 12. Perfect Pancake Reviews  |  August 5, 2013 at 9:10 am

    One cake can be made by spreading on strawberry preserves.
    He will have to convince them that even though he
    does not want to work for free, by donating his artwork, he can not only help your charity, but further his career.
    Modern ingenuity and need of the hour has helped create and perfect the
    food portion sizes control or portion control plates and
    scoopers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


