A Pizza Pie!

July 4, 2010 at 7:26 pm 12 comments

I meant to communicate my subject heading using a thick, Italian accent, but it’s difficult to convey that through mere letters.  At least I tried!  A pizza pie, eh?  Whatcha gonna do.

Well today has been wonderful!  A little bit of sand and surf, a little bit of exercise, a little bit of baking, and a whole lot of eating of complex carbohydrates.  Sunday, July 4th, 2010, you will be well remembered.

I walked a total of 9.2 kilometers this morning.  Due to my (increasing) weight, according to gmaps pedometer, I burned over 800 calories which is just crazy talk, but crazy talk I would love to believe!  With the additional 300 calories my pregnant body is allowed, that means 1100 extra calories to consume!  Me likey.

I first headed to the Remarkable Bean for an Iced Americano!  Priorities, priorities.

I did not stop in for the psychic and tarot readings.  Next time.

Much better view than my usual windowless office and computer screen

Because of my early start, I was home by 11:30 am.  I was starving, so I whipped up a protein-packed lunch.  I knew I wanted a bagel.  That was all I knew.  I ended up with this.

Toasted wheat bagel with natural peanut butter, carrots and hummus, and…an egg ring.

Yes, a ring of egg.

I tried microwaving 1 egg and 1/4 cup egg whites hoping it would create an egg puff.  Instead, I got a ring!  But honestly, I loved the texture of this thing.  It was kind of spongey, which is not usually an attribute one wants connected to one’s egg, but I was really digging it.

And for dessert, a peach!

I then set to work on making whole wheat pizza dough for tonight’s supper and then making Oh She Glow’s Coconut Cherry Banana Bread.  We are at the beginning of a heat wave and I decide to spend the sweltering afternoon with my oven on.  So clever I am!  But I wanted to make pizza for dinner and noticed that two pre-made whole wheat crusts at the grocery store costs almost $5.00.  I knew I could make a tastier crust for less than half that price, so I set to work!

First, the bread turned out really well.  The changes I made to Angela’s recipe were to use whole wheat flour instead of spelt and olive oil instead of sunflower oil.

I had two slices.  One for me, one for baby.  (Really, one for left thigh, one for right thigh ;))

A little while later, I made the pizza for dinner!  The recipe I use makes two pizzas, so I froze half the dough and set to work on creating a vegetarian masterpiece.

Vegan pizza is pretty

With cheese, also very pretty.

On top of the crust, I spread tomato sauce, asparagus, broccoli, orange pepper, mushrooms, zucchini, mozzarella cheese and feta cheese and sprinkled it with some dried oregano and basil.  Basically, whatever veggies I had on hand went onto this pizza.  My kind of recipe!

I ate half the pizza and it was really delicious.  Making your own dough isn’t difficult, just time consuming because it needs the time to rise.  Plus there are those 8 minutes of kneading involved, but I just pretend it’s my daily upper-body workout.

For dessert, a fruit salad made by husband.

Apple, peach, apricot, cherries, banana

Now I am dying of thirst and am thinking of making some hot green tea.  Baking all afternoon, drinking hot tea…what do I think this is, February?

Oh, and to conclude today’s entry, two pictures!

1.  Le Snugs

Very regal and intimidating

2.  Le Preggo at 22 weeks

The belly is actually 50% baby, 50% Chocolate Cherry Bomb

Have a great Sunday evening, and happy 4th of July especially to those who don’t have to go to work tomorrow!  I will be thinking of you at 6:30 am when my alarm goes off 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

The Beach Retreat from the heat

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela (ohsheglows)  |  July 4, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    LOL you are hilarious! Love it. Your pizza is making me drool and im not even hungry!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:27 am

      Aww, thanks! Pizza has a way of making even the fullest stomach hungry. It is mysterious and magical that way 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. land animal  |  July 4, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    Aww you are such a cute and happy mama-to-be! 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:27 am

      I have to say that pregnancy is agreeing with me, but really, I think it’s all the Green Monsters! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Therese  |  July 5, 2010 at 7:48 am

    I covet everything you ate yesterday!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:30 am

      Well, in that case, my work here is done! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Heather  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Pizza=yes! That looks so good!
    Your baby bump is adorable! One thing I loved @ being preggo was not having to hold in my tummy when I was bloated or ate too much 😀
    Rock that baby bump girl!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 5, 2010 at 11:50 am

      I am loving the baby bump. I am thinking of getting a prosthetic after this pregnancy is over and just pretending like I am still pregnant. That wouldn’t be weird, right? 😉

      Reply
  • 9. Erika  |  July 6, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    you and that belly are so dang cute!

    Reply
    • 10. Erika  |  July 6, 2010 at 12:15 pm

      oh and snugs is as cute as ever as well, she and hubert look somewhat alike.

      Reply
      • 11. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 6, 2010 at 12:24 pm

        I will tell her you said that!

    • 12. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 6, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      Why thank you 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


