Lazy Afternoon

July 3, 2010 at 7:48 pm 5 comments

It is totally normal to take pictures of the TV while you are watching it, right?

Season 1:  Sookie is asking Jackson out over the phone!

Before that evil Jess arrived on the scene!

This is what happens when I am left alone for an entire day.

So this afternoon, I watched too much TV and finished off the rest of that MEGA SANDWICH.  It was fantastic!  (Have I mentioned that?)  For dinner, I knew I wanted to go low on the carbs and high on the veg, so I made up a veggie and fruit plate.  To increase the protein, I whipped up some hummus!

I just use a basic recipe including:

  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 2 Tbsp tahini
  • 4 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 pinch of cumin
  • bit of ground black pepper

Just blend it all up in a food processor!  It is so much cheaper than buying hummus at the store.  I estimate that this entire batch cost about $1.25 or so to make.  I once told husband to shoot me if I ever purchased store bought hummus again.  I hope he realized I was using hyperbole 😉

I was so proud of my plate.  Check out the colour!

Broccoli, carrots, cherries, 2 apricots, crackers, almond butter, and hummus

I was hungry about an hour after eating this, so I finished up the rest of the baked pasta which was about 1 cup worth.

I was most excited about my plans for dessert:  Chocolate Cherry Bomb!  How else to live it up on a Saturday night?

  • 1 frozen banana, sliced
  • 1/2 cup frozen cherries
  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • 1 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • Topped with cacao nibs for extra antioxidant purposes, and also texture and flavour purposes 🙂

I think this was the best one yet!  I really love almond milk in my smoothies.  This is the revelation for the day.

Hey, look, a new centre piece!

Table by Ikea.  Centre piece by Cuteness.

Cheaper than flowers…kind of 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Busy morning The Beach

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. andrea @ a cake for a wife.  |  July 3, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    I have the same table — go Jokkmokk! 😀 I also seem to have a very similar centre piece many days, hehe.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 4, 2010 at 8:00 am

      Jokkmokk is now my new favourite word! Haha.

      Reply
      • 3. andrea @ a cake for a wife.  |  July 4, 2010 at 5:39 pm

        Hehe — Shaun thinks it’s weird, but I totally refer to all of our Ikea furniture (and we have a LOT!) by their ‘given names’. LIke Jokkmokk and Karlstad and Billy. Total Ikea nerd. 🙂

  • 4. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  July 4, 2010 at 12:02 am

    Gilmore Girls! Oh, how I loved that show. And yes, Jess sucked. Big time.

    Your dinner looks delicious.

    Reply
    • 5. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 4, 2010 at 8:00 am

      I have such mixed feelings about Jess which I may elaborate on another time 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


