Busy morning

July 3, 2010 at 1:23 pm 6 comments

Sorry for the delay!  It’s been a busy morning so now I am doing some mid-day decompressing by participating in the much-loved Saturday combo of coffee/Gilmore Girls/laundry/blogging.  Multi-tasking at its finest!

I began the day by grocery shopping and bought my usual supply of bananas, bagels, and battlestar galactica (ok, obviously not, but it starts with a “B”)  Unfortunately, the grocery store was out of the big tubs of baby spinach AND frozen mango so I was unimpressed.  I bought a little 5 oz container of spinach which will last me until tomorrow, maybe.

As soon as I got home, I made a Green Monster!

I started drinking this before I remembered to take a picture!

It contains:

  • 1 cup of 1% milk
  • 1 cup of frozen peaches
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 handful of spinach

I would have liked to have added more spinach, but I need to conserve what I’ve got!

Husband was on his way to his bud’s, so I hitched a ride to the subway so I could go downtown to the market and Harbourfront.  It is a stunning day so I wanted to spend a lot of time walking outside.  Exercise, Vitamin D, fresh air, and baked goods were what I was pursuing, although not necessarily in this order 🙂

I loooooooove the St. Lawrence market, even though it is packed with people.  I just love the vibe of it all.

I didn’t want to weigh myself down with too much produce since I have to carry everything on my bod, so I just bought a couple of baked goods:  an apricot zucchini bran muffin and a date scone!  I had the date scone for a late breakfast while sitting outside in the sun:

It was buttery, rich and dense with tons of dates in it.  Perfect!  I bought it from a baker that is part of the “North” market so it’s only available on Saturday mornings and I have no idea what the name of the vendor is.  But absolutely delicious!

I also went by the Carousel Bakery and picked up an eggplant sandwich to have for a picnic lunch.  This big mother contains breaded eggplant, roasted zucchini, red pepper and cheese.  It’s made on fresh olive focaccia bread and it is to die for.  Other aspects that make this sandwich awesome:

  • It only costs $4.75
  • It is HUGE

The size of a football and the weight of a newborn 😉

Now that’s what I’m talkin’ about!

I walked from the St. Lawrence market down to Harbourfront, found a shaded bench, and ate this even though I wasn’t really hungry.  It was beckoning to me from my backpack!  I ate just over half.

There is some sort of waterfront festival happening at Harbourfront so it, too, was packed with people.  With the backpack and camera, I definitely felt like a tourist!

My feet began to hurt so I walked back to Union station and took the subway and bus home.  I can’t believe it’s only 1:00 pm!  A full, eventful morning and it only cost me less than $10.  Now I will spend the afternoon relaxing, doing laundry, and figuring out what to have for dinner 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Hippie stash Lazy Afternoon

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary @ Bites and Bliss  |  July 3, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    I’d have a feild day at that market!!! Awesome! and that sandwich is my kinda meal- cheap and HUGE!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 3, 2010 at 7:29 pm

      Yeah, it’s the biggest farmer’s market I’ve ever been to. Intense! Almost as intense as that sandwich 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  July 3, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    one of my best friends just put pics up on facebook of her trip to the St.Lawrence market. of course she raved 😀

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 3, 2010 at 7:30 pm

      Nice! It is definitely a must-see for tourists.

      Reply
  • 5. Erika  |  July 3, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    What a sandwich! Sounded like a lovely morning. And its the Tallship tour that hit Toronto, didnt you see the big “pirate ships”?

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 4, 2010 at 7:58 am

      Yes, I figured out it was the waterfront festival. There were many tall pirate ships, but I must be jaded in my old age because I wasn’t impressed 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


