Hippie stash

July 2, 2010 at 8:24 pm 7 comments

Happy Friday night!  To celebrate the end of another week, I am sitting on the couch with my cats and the husband watching season 6 of Entourage and drinking tea.  It is wild times around here!

Earlier today, I treated myself to shopping mall food!  This is not usually a frugal nor fit move, but I was determined to find something healthy and inexpensive.  Freshii beckoned to me…

I decided to try the vegetable burrito which contains “spinach, brown rice, roasted red peppers, mushrooms, diced tomatoes, goat cheese, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar”.  With tax, it was just over $7.00 which is a considerable splurge for what turned out to be basically brown rice in a tortilla 😦

Where is the green?  No spinach to be found

It wasn’t terrible and the goat cheese was delicious, but it was too much rice, not enough veggie.

After shopping at the mall, I headed to the Big Carrot, the best health food store in Toronto.  It is almost as large as Whole Foods but is independent!  My only qualm is that the place is always packed.  If you haven’t been able to tell by now, I don’t like crowds.  This is why I spend so much time sitting in my basement with my cats.

I bought lots of fun stuff though!  Check out my hippie stash 😉

Clockwise from lower left hand corner:

  • “Natural” brand seed and nut bar
  • Organic dates
  • Barley
  • Coconut butter!
  • Cacao nibs
  • Two giant cookies:  Cashew Coconut and Dark Chocolate Cranberry
  • “Vel” brand Coconut Date bar
  • Three larabars

I was most excited about the Coconut butter.  At almost $12.00, this was a major splurge.

I tried a small teaspoonful and it was incredibly tasty and decadent.  It has tons and tons of saturated fat so I will have to use it sparingly.  I also hope that it warms up a bit so it becomes more melt-y.  I imagine even the worst of the worst days could be remedied by a spoonful of this stuff!

For an afternoon snack, I had 2 dates, 2 ginger cookies, and a bowl of cottage cheese with blueberries.  One problem with being home in the afternoons is the ability to snack and snack and snack…

And then I napped.

For dinner, I made a baked pasta using whole wheat rotini and mixing in a diced zucchini, diced orange pepper, diced mushrooms, and a cubed slab of firm tofu for extra protein.  I combined it all with tomato sauce, placed it in a casserole dish, topped it with mozzarella and parmesan cheese, and put it in a 350 F oven for 25 minutes.  Husband was on the verge of ordering pizza, but I’m glad I was able to rally myself from my post-nap stupor and make this healthier and less expensive meal.

I had this much plus a bit extra.

For a minute, husband thought the cubed tofu was chicken.  He was quickly corrected.

For dessert, I was dying to break out the giant cookies!  They have all-natural, simple ingredients which makes up for their size (I think).  To clearly display their hugeness, I needed an object in my photo to provide perspective.  Husband chose this pose:

I told him that I would be putting this on my PUBLIC blog, but he didn’t seem fazed.  He said this picture alone would easily bring me an additional 50 subscriptions.  He said my blog should be called “Frugal ‘n’ Fit ‘n’ Funny” 😉

I split them each in half and served them with cherries and tea.  That is how we roll here in the F ‘n’ F household.

I thought I’d prefer the Cashew Coconut cookie because those are two of my favourite things, but the Dark Chocolate Cranberry was outstanding!  Such a rich, dark chocolate flavour and the chewy cranberry pieces were well-paired.  I would definitely buy this cookie again.

Well it’s time to catch up on the world of blogs, watch another episode of Entourage, and get ready for Day 2 of Weekend ‘o Robyn.  Catch you on the flip side!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Vegetarianism Busy morning

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. land animal  |  July 2, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    i want freshii so bad! but we dont have one 😦

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 3, 2010 at 1:24 pm

      I heard they are expanding like mad, so there is hope yet!

      Reply
  • 3. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  July 3, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Nice stash! 😀
    I’ve never seen Larabars with French on it before, but you’re in Canada, eh?
    I’ve been accused of having a Canadian accent before, but alas, it’s a Wisconsin accent…..they’re similar.
    LOVE the coconut and pecan Larabars.
    Have you tried any of the new flavors yet?

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 3, 2010 at 1:26 pm

      I love a midwestern accent!

      The newest flavour we have available here is Tropical Fruit Tart. Are there newer flavours? Canada always seems to lag behind the U.S. in terms of awesome stuff like that.

      Reply
  • 6. Therese  |  July 5, 2010 at 7:23 am

    Hey! You were in my neck of the woods! I’m not too far from The Big Carrot!

    As for warming coconut butter, you can put the whole jar in the microwave for about a minute to soften it up, it doesn’t seem to be phased by repeated stops in the microwave, although I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s melty with the heat we have going on this week!

    I always pick up a cookie at The Big Carrot when I shop there! They’re soooo yummy!

    Reply
    • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:29 am

      I love the area surrounding The Big Carrot! What a great community! Although if I lived the close to all of the yummy Greek food, there would be problems involving me and a tray of spanakopita 😉

      Yesterday it was warm enough for the coconut butter to be soft on its own, but it’s good to know it can withstand multiple microwavings 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


