Weekend ‘o Robyn

July 1, 2010 at 8:03 pm 4 comments

It has been a fun and relaxing Canada Day, but I have failed, just FAILED, as a food blogger.  I only took pictures of my breakfast and lunch but nothing else!  By the time I was settled in my lawn chair with my plate of delicious summer salads, there was no way I was going to get my pregnant butt up to get my camera.  Sorry Internet!  I know you must be crushed by this news 😉

After my delicious yet inadequate breakfast, I had a mid-morning snack of a bagel with cream cheese and some blueberries.  I didn’t take a picture because my camera batteries were re-charging, and also because I felt silly having, basically, a second breakfast!

Because of this, I wanted something healthy for lunch so I had a can of vegetable bean soup and some triscuits.

It says healthy right on the can, so it must be!

I ate the whole can so double these stats.  16 grams of protein, 18 grams of fibre, and 340 calories.  Hurrah!  Unfortch, the sodium level in these things is never pretty so I made sure to have this with a giant glass of water.

This was really filling but made me so thirsty!  Probably having the salty triscuits too didn’t help matters.  For a snack, I wanted something really refreshing.  What is the most refreshing thing I can think of?  It begins with a G and ends with an R.  Any guesses?

Who is this major hottie holding the Green Monster?

I am happy because my smoothie has mango in it.  I made one for husband too, so for two I used:

  • 2 cups of 1% milk
  • 1 mango, sliced
  • 1 frozen banana, sliced
  • Loads and loads of baby spinach

My mango was overly ripe so it was a very sweet GM.

For dinner, I had a plate full of your usual salads that can be found at a BBQ – bean, potato, macaroni, garden etc. – along with some bread and tomato sauce.  For dessert, a slice of black forest cake.  Delish, delish, delish.  I ate my little carb-loving heart out!

Also, I would like to note that my aunt declared the Ginger Molasses cookies as some of the best cookies she has ever eaten.  I’m just saying is all 😉

Now I am drinking decaf green tea and watching TMZ.  Multi-tasking!  Kelsey Grammar is divorcing his wife.  See, this blog isn’t just for frugality and food tips, but also unimportant celebrity gossip.

As my thoughts turn to Friday and the weekend to follow, I am beginning to formulate plans.  I need to go to the mall tomorrow afternoon so I think I may treat myself to lunch!  Food court lunch that is frugal and healthy — that should be an interesting find!  This weekend, I want to splurge a bit at the farmer’s market and with other food I buy.  I’d like to visit the health food store and get some more larabars and maybe splurge on coconut butter.  My goal this weekend is not worry about the cost of food, just the healthiness.  Sound like a good compromise?  I will for sure share my purchases on here!

Happy almost-TGIF!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Canada is one old lady Cocoats

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. GirlonRaw  |  July 1, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    Perfect weekend title as that is MY name too 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 2, 2010 at 8:19 am

      Robyns unite! I hope you have a wonderful weekend too 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Melissa  |  July 2, 2010 at 11:38 am

    I am having a weekend of Robyn too!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 2, 2010 at 11:40 am

      Nice! That weekend of Robyn sounds more fun than my weekend of Robyn.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!


