Ginger Molasses Cookies

June 30, 2010 at 8:01 pm 6 comments

It’s a good thing I packed extra snacks today, because I had three this afternoon!

1) 3 Apricots and 7 Almonds

2) Apple

3) Granola bar

Have I mentioned I am pregnant?  Oh, about 4,000 times?  Ok then 🙂

I knew I’d be baking cookies tonight, so I wanted a light dinner.  Plus my better half wasn’t home for dinner, so I knew I could get away with something that would never be filling enough for him.  I decided to scramble 1 egg + 2 egg whites with asparagus, broccoli, and feta cheese and topped it with ground black pepper and hot sauce.  I had this along with the other half of my morning bagel with margarine.

Lots of green!

I also had another Green Monster today (my second; just one of those days I guess!).  This one was made with:

  • 1 cup 1% milk
  • 1 cup of cantaloupe *** NEW GM FRUIT INCLUSION ***
  • 1/2 banana
  • Lots of baby spinach

I liked the flavour, but I think I prefer cantaloupe on its own.

So I’m heading to a family shindig tomorrow and thought I’d bring cookies.  In past years, I’d pick up some timbits on my way, but since I am being frugal and all, I thought I’d whip up a simple cookie.  Usually I reserve this recipe for Christmas, but who doesn’t like a ginger molasses cookie year round?

Ginger Molasses Cookies

Makes 40 wee cookies

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp each cinnamon and ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg (gah, just realized I forgot this!)
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup oil
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar

1.  Preheat oven to 350 F and lightly spray 2 cookie sheets with oil.

2.  In a medium sized bowl, stir flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg together.

3.  In a large bowl, beat an egg with a fork and then beat in oil and molasses.  Using a wooden spoon, beat in brown sugar until evenly mixed.  Gradually stir in flour mixture until well mixed.

4.  Place granulated sugar in a small bowl and pinch off small balls (around 1 Tbsp worth).  Roll them in the sugar until coated.  Place on baking sheet, 20 per sheet (5 rows of 4).

5.  Bake in oven about 8 minutes, switching position of sheets halfway through the cooking time.

They reminds me of Starbuck’s Ginger Molasses cookie, except smaller and, of course, less expensive!

I had three four with a cup of orange pekoe!

As I mentioned earlier today, tomorrow is Canada Day!  There are many patriotic activities happening at a community centre near you.  We are heading to my Great Aunt’s and Uncle’s in Oakville for an annual family reunion.  I’ve been spending Canada Day at this particular house for as long as I can remember.  Spending Canada Day anywhere else just doesn’t feel right!

I have to return to work on Friday, but only for the 1/2 day.  My husband is going up to his buddy’s on Saturday for a weekend of male bonding and debauchery which may or may not include:

  • The consumption of chicken wings
  • The consumption of beer (of this I am sure)
  • The playing of video games
  • The sleeping for 10 or more hours
  • The absence of any healthy or frugally minded wives who force lentils upon the innocent 😉

This will leave me home alone for the weekend!  With husband working regular 9-5 hours now, I’m not used to having any time alone lately.   I’m looking forward to a weekend of solitude!  I am an introvert who craves lazy time to do whatever.  I hope to bake, read, and hopefully visit the St. Lawrence Farmer’s Market (my absolute favourite!).

Spending a “long” weekend at home is also a very frugal move.  I’m able to participate in my favourite hobbies without spending gobs of money on restaurant food, accommodations, transportation, or any other expense associated with a weekend away.   I’m also able to eat healthier!  Of course, most would argue that a weekend away is not frugal, and not healthy, but is loads of fun.  I can understand that, too.

I wonder — does being an introvert who enjoys her “alone time” make it easier to be frugal than being an extrovert? Extroverts love to go out and socialize which often costs money.  My introverted self would be just as happy with a night alone in bed with a library book and a cup of tea.  Hmmmm…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Lentils: The Official Legume (?) of this Blog Canada is one old lady

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  July 1, 2010 at 7:24 am

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE ginger molasses cookies, especially the Starbucks ones!! Maybe it’s because I’m a ginger? 😉 I think I need to make these asap!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 1, 2010 at 8:37 am

      Those are definitely my favourite cookies from Starbs! When I am feeling particularly decadent, I like to get one with a Chai Latte. This preferably happens in mid-October when the air is crisp and the leaves are turning colour. Ok, I have given this too much thought 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  July 1, 2010 at 7:49 am

    wow-i never thought of the connection between being an introvert and being frugal.
    it totally makes sense or cents! ha ha ha.ok, dumb joke.
    anyway, i’m the same way…..i don’t socialize unless i HAVE to and i’m uber frugal.
    hmmmm….there should be a study. nope-would probably cost too much 😉

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 1, 2010 at 8:38 am

      It DOES make cents! 🙂

      I often take pleasure in the fact I need so little (and so few people) to be happy and entertained, although every so often I look at the life of someone like, say, Richard Branson and I wonder what THAT must be like. Then I go back to petting my cats and changing my sweat pants into pajama pants 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Therese  |  July 5, 2010 at 7:16 am

    Starbucks’ Ginger Molasses cookies are my boyfriends favourite! Thanks for the recipe, I’ll have to make it for him soon!!!

    I think there’s a total connection. I used to never spend money until I started to socialize more and then I find that on those weeks where I’m not doing much I tend to spend a lot less!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:28 am

      If you make these cookies for your boyfriend, you will earn some major bonus points! Of this I am sure.

      Yeah, it’s such a tough call — I like to be frugal, but it’s also nice to go out and be social too. I guess it’s all about balance, and also having friends who respect your frugal ways!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

