What Would You Do?

June 29, 2010 at 11:54 am 8 comments

Let’s just say you are a pregnant woman, say, 21 weeks and 3 days pregnant.Β  I am just pulling that figure out of my arse πŸ˜‰

You have eaten your normal amount of pretty healthy, well-balanced food for the day.Β  Fruits, vegetables, nuts etc.

But all you freaking want is carbs.Β  You want a giant donut or bagel or muffin.Β  You want it to be made with white flour and white sugar.Β  The whiter the better (You are a bit of a carb racist today).

However, you pride yourself on eating well and know that your easy-so-far pregnancy is attributable to this.Β  Aside from gaining 8 pounds in 4 weeks, you feel great in your body and like the way things are going.

WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

Give in to the unhealthy carb craving or hold out for something healthier or just eat what you’ve packed in your lunch? (which is an apple that needs to last you for the next 5 hours).Β  Keep in mind that dinner tonight involves a bagel (ooh, teaser!).

Ahem.

Anyway, earlier today before the Carb Monster began rearing his ugly head, I had some cantaloupe for a snack.Β  It was so tasty and refreshing!

However, I was still hungry, so I ate some crackers I had packed for this afternoon.Β  Whoops!

This seemed to satisfy me until lunchtime when I had my usual salad.

This salad includes:

  • Baby spinach
  • Green pepper
  • Mushrooms
  • Tomato
  • Cucumber
  • Feta Cheese
  • Dried apricots
  • Walnuts
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Blueberries
  • Tiny bit of Mediterranean dressing, which is now all gone 😦

I love blueberry, walnut and feta together!Β  The secret is to get them all on the same forkful together.Β  Difficult, but not impossible πŸ™‚

Now I think I will spend the rest of the afternoon having illicit fantasies involving all-purpose flour.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Da Bomb Pomegranate Bran Muffin

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 29, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    I would get my carby treat! And maybe make dinner only involve half of a bagel? πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 29, 2010 at 1:54 pm

      Half a bagel is genius. Genius! Thank you πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 3. andrea @ a cake for a wife.  |  June 29, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    Hey, if the baby wants a bagel, the BABY WANTS A BAGEL! Who are you to deny such a humble request? πŸ˜‰

    (Seriously, if/when I am ever pregnant, I am gonna use this excuse x1000. The baby wants peanut butter m&ms. The baby wants lemon meringue pie. The baby wants to watch Grey’s Anatomy. LOL.)

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 29, 2010 at 1:55 pm

      This is true, what baby wants, baby gets. I have had hardly any pregnancy cravings at all, so when the carb siren sounds, I should heed its call. That only makes sense!

      My baby LOVES watching TMZ. Already, such a sucker for celeb gossip πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 5. Jennifer @ shesafitchick  |  June 29, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    I agree with Andrea, give the baby what it wants! πŸ™‚

    I love your site, you are so funny!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 29, 2010 at 1:55 pm

      My duty is to listen to my readers, after all πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the compliment!

      Reply
  • 7. land animal  |  June 29, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    I agree, it your carby treat! I see so many people who just put nothing but pure junk food into their body while pregnant and have healthy babies. I am not suggesting that you do and I don’t your efforts to eat well at all, but I think a doughnut will be ok! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 29, 2010 at 3:37 pm

      I ended up having a muffin in all its 400 calorie, 20 gram of fat deliciousness! It was worth it. Baby seems to think so too! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

