Tomorrow is another day

June 29, 2010 at 9:57 pm 4 comments

I bring this entry to you with one full belly.  And I’m not just talking about the baby in there.  I’m talking about the lentils, the chocolate, the cheese, the crackers, and the ice cream.  Oy.

Dinner was absolutely awesome, though!  I made Snobby Joes, per The Fitnessista‘s recommendation, and it was absolutely amazing!  This is my second lentil recipe in so many weeks and again I was very impressed.  Lentils are full of so much fibre and protein, they almost seem too good to be true.

Seriously, I cannot talk lentils up enough.  Lentils should be this blog’s mascot!

I had the snobby joes on a bagel (both halves, only the beginning of my night of eating too much!) along with some local, steamed asparagus.  Local asparagus is so much skinnier than, uh, foreign.

After eating this, I think went back and had a few more spoonfuls.  Then I had a bit of Husband’s.  Then I grabbed a few spoonfuls of leftover Greek Pasta salad.  A few hours later, I had a few squares of chocolate.  Then I had two slices of cheese and some crackers.  Then I had a small chocolate-dipped cone from Dairy Queen.

I think I don’t eat enough through the day.  I am going to try to beef up my breakfast, as well as my morning snack.  Instead of just having a piece of fruit or some veggies, I will try to get some more protein and fibre in there as well (an apple + almonds or blueberries + granola bar etc.).  I feel like my body is starting to require that extra 300-500 calories a day that comes with being pregnant (hence this afternoon’s Carb Attack) and I am more than willing to oblige it.  I just hope to oblige it with more lentils and less Dairy Queen (well, most of the time, anyway!).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Pomegranate Bran Muffin One month of blogging

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 30, 2010 at 8:00 am

    I love lentils as well! They’re so versatile!!!

    That’s a great plan for getting some more calories in, it’ll help to ensure that you only gain what you need to gain for your wee baby and not a lot more while still be super healthy! You’re such a smart chick!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 30, 2010 at 8:39 am

      I am truly in awe of lentils. I like that you can buy them dried in bulk (cheap!) and they cook up really quickly (easy!).

      It feels weird to consciously increase my calorie intake, but I am hoping that it will keep the Carb Attacks to a minimum and help me eat more healthy food and not so many Pomegranate muffins (as tasty as they may be!).

      Reply
  • 3. Allison  |  June 30, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I craved lentils while I was pregnant and they are an amazing food for a pregnant lady.! And luckily I found the most amazing lentil at Whole Foods which was spicy and delicious and hit the spot every single time!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 30, 2010 at 10:29 am

      I am very impressed by their nutritional stats! I put them up there with hummus as Pregnant Lady Superfood!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

