Salad stains

June 28, 2010 at 11:47 am 8 comments

I keep dropping food onto my belly, thereby staining all of my shirts.  Of course today I am wearing a white shirt so the stains are clearly visible!  The same thing happened on Saturday.  I would blame the pregnant belly, but honestly if it didn’t fall onto the belly, it would fall onto the lap.  I am sloppy.

For a snack this morning, I had about 20 baby carrots.  I became more hungry after eating these than I was before.  Then my hunger died down until lunch, so I will call this a successful snack.

For lunch, I had a salad but of course!

Sadly, I forgot to buy avocados at the grocery store.  I am never as impressed with an avocado-less salad.  This one contains:

  • Baby spinach
  • 3 mushrooms, sliced
  • 8 slices of cucumber
  • 1/2 tomato, sliced
  • 1/2 red pepper, sliced
  • 6 dried apricots, sliced
  • Handful of unroasted, unsalted almonds
  • Feta cheese
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Mediterranean dressing

It was still pretty good.

Dessert involved breaking out my favourite chocolate bar!!!

I tried taking a photo of myself kissing this bar (because that’s a normal thing to do when sitting at your desk, right?), but it was a scary sight to see.  iPhone photography + office lighting = Plummeting self-esteem.

I love this bar so much.  The quality of the chocolate far exceeds the Cadbury Dark and the sea salt gives it such a great, additional dimension of flavour.  I always find two squares perfectly satisfying, which is not what I can say for almost every other chocolate bar out there.

Work is awfully quiet today but – shhhh!!! – don’t tell my boss.  I am hoping this is what the rest of the summer will be like this.  An office worker can dream!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Cereal Mess Fiesta

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison  |  June 28, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    When I was pregnant, I would drop food on my belly ALL.THE.TIME. It was so embarrassing and then I decided to say screw it and ignore it. It really really helped.

    Now that E is here, milk is spilled all over the same areas so really, I’ve been messy for the last year or so and it really doesn’t matter!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 28, 2010 at 12:54 pm

      I love this comment! I am going to say screw it too. Pregnant/Nursing mothers with stained shirts unite!

      Reply
  • 3. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  June 28, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    OMG I looooove that chocolate bar! I literally have a stock of it in my house all the time 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  June 28, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    That is my favorite chocolate bar as well! The best part is what you said, that two squares are really satisfying. Mmm. I need to restock my supply.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 29, 2010 at 8:16 am

      I am eager to try different brands of sea salt dark chocolate. I smell a new hobby on my hands.

      Reply
  • 7. Therese  |  June 29, 2010 at 7:23 am

    I always joke to my Mom that I need to buy her a bib! She drops things everywhere!

    Okay, I’ve never tried that chocolate before so I’m going to try it! I’m intrigued!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 29, 2010 at 8:17 am

      I definitely recommend this chocolate. It is the perfect after dinner (or lunch…or breakfast…) treat!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

