Fiesta

June 28, 2010 at 7:14 pm 2 comments

Dinner tonight was a new spin on an old favourite.  How is that for a tag line? 😉

Before I get to that, though, I need to mention that I had an apple and a Kashi granola bar for a snack.  No picture, because my pictures of apples and granola bars are B-O-R-I-N-G.  At least that was my thought process this afternoon 🙂

We often have vegetarian tacos made out of veggie ground round mixed with black beans and taco seasoning, sauteed vegetables, sour cream, salsa, tomato, spinach, and shredded cheddar.  Back in my pre-blogging days, I’d have two tacos and be stuffed afterwards.  Now that I document everything I eat with pictures, I tend to be a bit more reserved in my consumption.  Plus this means more room for dessert!

I made a “taco bowl” using the tortilla shell as a bowl.  Sort of.

This “taco bowl” contains:

  • 1 spinach tortilla
  • Baby spinach
  • 2 Tbsp diced tomato
  • Spoonful of salsa
  • Spoonful of sour cream
  • Two scoops of veggie ground/black beans
  • Two scoops of sauteed mushrooms, green pepper and onion
  • A small handful of shredded cheddar cheese

I liked eating the taco this way.  Less messy!  I went back for a bit more of seconds, minus the tortilla shell.

Would you believe that husband requested a dessert plate for us to share?  When I first made one, he thought it was just a bit too – what’s the right word? – um, precious.  Maybe too effeminate when paired with a cup of tea?  But now he is asking for them, which is proof that dessert plates are for the masses.

This one includes:

  • 15-20 cherries
  • 10 tiny local strawberries
  • 1 slice of Blueberry Oat Bread cut in half (this loaf is never ending!)
  • 2 chocolate wafer cookies
  • 2 little squares of Cadbury Dairy Milk

Speaking of cherries, I froze more for tomorrow’s breakfast!  If there is an easy way to motivate me to get up in the morning, it’s the promise of a Chocolate Cherry Bomb.  This I know for sure.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Salad stains Da Bomb

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    I love the tortilla bowl idea! I also love your dessert plates, they’re so cute 🙂 I’ve tried to have communal desserts with my boyfriend, but it always ends in me eating about 95% of the whole thing, which is no good. Even when I make us separate desserts, I’ll devour mine in seconds and nibble on his if he leaves the room. No dessert is safe from me! 😉

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 29, 2010 at 8:18 am

      I really have to constrain myself when it comes to shared dessert too. This one was a bit of a fail because the Blueberry Oat bread turned gross all of a sudden, so I threw my piece out, so it turned out to be a pretty healthy dessert in the end!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

