Cereal Mess

June 28, 2010 at 8:28 am 5 comments

Definitely the easiest way to greet a Monday morning is by making a big ol’ Cereal Mess for breakfast!

This one includes:

  • 1/2 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch
  • 1/2 cup plain non-fat yogurt
  • Large handful of fresh blueberries
  • About 7 tiny local strawberries
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • Tbsp of raisins
  • Sprinkle of coconut
  • Spoonful of almond butter

Delicious!

I don’t know if it was the great breakfast, but I woke up this morning feeling wonderful.  It just felt fabulous to be alive!  This is a crazy feeling to have, especially at 6:00 am on a Monday morning so I just rolled with it.

My morning was slightly tarnished when I got off the subway and FELL while walking up the steps.  At least falling UP the stairs is better than falling down, but I still banged up my knee and felt embarrassed.  Oh well.  I made myself feel better by ordering a medium coffee instead of a small 🙂

So it’s a new week and a short one at that!  I have Thursday off for Canada Day and then Friday is another 1/2 day.  I can’t complain!

And, because it’s Monday, I present to you The Monday Rundown.  This is a record I keep of my spending during the past week.

Tall coffee $1.89
Medium coffee $1.94
Tall coffee $1.89
Small coffee $1.75
cookies, crackers, berries, bagels $10.17
cherries, bananas, garlic, onion $5.65
cat litter, gum, cup, deodorant $16.97
farmer’s market $5.00
Self magazine $4.50
Paint $20.00
Total for week $69.76

Obligatory comments about this:

  • My goal was to buy no food, but the disclaimer was that I didn’t want to buy any convenience foods like a muffin or latte.  The food I bought was for cooking and Chocolate Cherry Bomb-creating purposes only 🙂
  • We spent about $20 at the farmer’s market, but Husband paid for most of it
  • We also split the cost of paint for the baby’s room
  • Self magazine is one of my mandatory splurges.  $4.50 is worth the happiness I derive from the hour or two I spend reading it.

Yesterday afternoon, I REALLY wanted to just go shopping.  I wanted to browse around a mall or a department store just for the fun of it.  Then I thought better of it.  I knew it would eventually lead to unnecessary spending, so instead I did chores.  Um, not quite as fun.  But it’s like a diet in that way.  Tough during the self-discipline part, but worth it after the fact!

Happy Monday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

The View from the Couch Salad stains

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  June 28, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Delicious lookin’ cereal mess! Nut butter and coconut make anything good 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 28, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I’ve been wanting almond butter so bad ever since I ran out last week! What brand of almond butter do you use?

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 28, 2010 at 10:16 am

      I use maranatha! I got this huge jar of it from Costco in February and it’s almost done. Not bad for almost five months worth of almond butter goodness! I wonder if I can try Overnight Oats in it? I am guessing not because it’s just too deep. Oh well, I will just have to lick it dry using a giant wooden spoon 🙂

      Reply
      • 5. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 28, 2010 at 12:00 pm

        Haha no wonder yours looks so delicious and creamy 😀 I had Maranatha too (just the regular no-stir kind), but I want to try out the Maranatha natural roasted almond butter. I’m so excited to get a new jar! Love it so much!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

