The View from the Couch

June 27, 2010 at 7:00 pm 8 comments

I have spent today either:

  • Eating
  • Painting
  • Glued to the news watching G20 protester coverage
  • Reading about living to be 100

Quite the variety, if I do say so myself.

To fortify my day, I had a snack of cherries and coffee WITH CREAM.

The colour that is created by mixing coffee with cream is one of the best colours in the world

Husband started painting the baby’s room using low-VOC paint meant for a children’s room.  There was hardly any smell at all, so I thought I’d help him out a bit.  I consider this my aerobic workout for the day, even though it consisted mostly of me sitting on the floor wearing ill-fitting grubby clothes and moving my right hand back and forth, and back and forth, and back and forth…

For lunch, I had a nice mix and match of leftovers.

  • Slice of Banana Oat bread toasted with almond butter
  • Leftover Greek Pasta Salad
  • Baby carrots with spinach-basil dip

The dip was made by my mother-in-law and she gave me the recipe!  It’s very much like pesto, although seems a bit healthier?  I will definitely be making it.

Spinach and Basil Dip

  • 1 cup of cashews
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1/4 cup basil
  • 1 small clove garlic
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbsp water
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil

Put all of the ingredients in a food processor and blend.  Easy peasy!

It is the Green Monster of dips

For dessert, I had four chocolate wafer cookies (130 calories total!)

And for an afternoon snack, 12 unroasted, unsalted almonds and a fruit salad:

And for dinner, leftover vegetarian chili and more dip!  This time with crackers.

I haven’t yet had dessert, but I am guessing it will be leftover spice cake!

I definitely eat more on the weekends, especially when I am home all day.  I “time” everything out so I always know when to expect the next meal.  I usually eat in 2-3 hour gaps.  Breakfast at 7:00 am, snack at 10:00 am, lunch at 12:00 pm, snack at 2:30 pm, dinner at 5:00 pm, dessert at 7:30 pm.  I do this so that I never experience the sensation of hunger, and to prevent mindless grazing.  I eat a lot but it’s mostly healthy stuff so I think my plan works well for me.  Does your eating change much from the weekdays to the weekend?  Do you have any tips about how to eat healthfully 7 days a week?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Sunday Morning Cereal Mess

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 27, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    When I was little my favourite dinner was “smorgasbord”, which was really just my mom’s way of spinning “incohesive leftovers I don’t have to cook” 😉 Sometimes mix-and-match meals are really the best.

    On weekdays I eat breakfast, pack a lunch with snacks that I eat whenever I feel the need, eat dinner sometime between 4:00-9:00, and then have dessert pretty late at night because I’m a total night owl snacker, and if I eat my dessert too early I’ll just eat another one later lol. On weekends when I sleep in later, I usually have brunch and dinner, and then extra snacks or dessert to make up for the third meal I never had.

    I think there are many ways to eat healthfully, you just have to find the way that works best for you 🙂 My biggest tips for myself are to make sure I’m hydrated enough because thirsty = hungry to my body, and to really think before I start grazing, because I love food so much I often eat even though I’m not hungry!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:14 am

      Hydration is so important and definitely something I forget about, especially when at home (easier to keep water at my desk at work!). Good tip!

      Reply
  • 3. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  June 27, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    gotta say-i can’t wait for fall so i can make that vegetarian chili 🙂
    it looks SO good!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:15 am

      I can’t wait to hear your review. It is definitely my favourite veg chili recipe, and it gets better the longer it sits in the fridge. When does that ever happen? 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Kris | iheartwellness.com  |  June 28, 2010 at 2:39 am

    Banana oat bread?? Sigh…sounds delish! Do you make it yourself??

    Everything looks so tasty!

    xxoo

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:15 am

      Oops, I meant Blueberry Oat Bread. Still delicious though! Yes, I made it myself. Recipe can be found on my “Recipes” page 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Amanda C  |  June 28, 2010 at 10:42 am

    My eating varies a lot between weekday and weekend. Weekdays are semi regulated because of work (and bringing a lunch and snacks), whereas weekends are usually brunch + dinner + ?. I’m trying to balance things out by eating smaller meals and having more (healthy!) snacks.

    I too have problems staying hydrated on the weekends. This weekend I had a massive headache one evening, and then realized I had not drank any water all afternoon. That would never happen at work.

    This very long weekend we had a few big dinners to look forward to, so we purposely ate lighter earlier in the day, and it seemed to work out for the better.

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 28, 2010 at 11:38 am

      I used to do the brunch + dinner dealy on the weekends, but found I snacked a lot to make up for that missing third meal. It’s a tough balance!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

